RSS

Written Laughter

05 Jan

laughter

This final project was my first for the intermediate class.  I used black gauche, a browse nib for the body of the project and the title was written with my favorite Winsor Newton Series 7 Kolinsky brush. 

Back in those days, I discovered the Pentel acrylic fountain brush but it was expensive and hard to find.  In fact, I could only get them through my art instructor and I don’t know exactly where she found them.  Now you can buy them in all c olors at Hobby Lobby for a few bucks. 

There are several in different colors in my purse and I use them for all kinds of lettering.  Peole love to see their names handwritten in calligraphy.  But I am so out of practice. 

Below:  The work of Kingsley Benefield. 

 
16 Comments

Posted by on January 5, 2009 in Uncategorized

 

16 responses to “Written Laughter

  1. Itiswell

    January 6, 2009 at 2:56 am

    You do beautiful work my friend. (((hugs)))

     
  2. Aafke

    January 6, 2009 at 5:05 am

    Waw, that’s really good calligraphy!

     
  3. lowandslow1

    January 6, 2009 at 7:14 am

    Very nice! I barely made it past intermediate crayola. 😉

    S

     
  4. burstmode

    January 6, 2009 at 8:07 am

    hey, you misspelled…nah, just kidding.

     
  5. dkpark

    January 6, 2009 at 6:01 pm

    That is so beautiful!

     
  6. Shannon

    January 7, 2009 at 11:49 am

    It is such a beautiful art form. Once upon a time my father (sperm donor) wrote me a lovely letter all in caligraphy.

     
  7. Eugene

    January 7, 2009 at 5:19 pm

    Where is Kingsley ?

     
  8. Eugene

    January 7, 2009 at 5:21 pm

    Where is Kingsley Benefiled doing today ?

     
  9. masterharper

    January 7, 2009 at 8:48 pm

    😉 Good luck on getting your first PERN book by Anne McCaffrey
    Pastor Larry aka the Masterharper of Kentucky

     
  10. Nancy

    January 8, 2009 at 6:35 pm

    Awesome job! I once had it in my head that I was going to learn calligraphy but since I have the patience of a gnat…..lol….I didnt stick with it.

     
  11. wildstorm

    January 8, 2009 at 7:56 pm

    Oh you should start right now. Buy a calligraphy marker and start writing letters over and over again. Write write write!

     
  12. Aafke

    January 9, 2009 at 5:11 am

    A marker? What’s that?
    I have al these different metal nibs, and I usually use the same ink I use for drawing.

     
  13. Val Erde

    March 6, 2011 at 7:04 pm

    I love the vertical one.
    🙂

     
  14. Life: Between the lines

    March 28, 2011 at 7:08 pm

    Nice! Quite creative and enjoyable! 🙂

     
  15. Dianne

    May 22, 2011 at 2:22 pm

    Hi….I really love the poem on laughter. I would like to use it in our small newsletter for which the theme this issue is laughter. I see the author is S. West. Is that you. I could not find this poem elsewhere on the internet so I am asking you.

    thanks,

    Di

     
  16. anemulligan

    November 25, 2014 at 10:21 am

    May I use this poster in a blog post about laughter? I will give credit and link to your site here.

     

Leave a Reply

 
