RSS

Swaddled

04 Jan

matthewseyes

 

My blog is evolving.  I intended to keep it “back roads” only with photos concentrating on rural America as seen off the beaten path.  It will continue.  However, with the demise of Journalspace, there has been a change in theme on this WordPress blog in that I write a bit more personal.  I don’t feel so threatened as I did on Journalspace although the risk is certainly there.   It’s freeing really to be here. 

This morning in Sunday School, we covered Exodus 1:8 and subsequent verses relating to the midwives.  The related text spoke of the midwives cleansing the baby and rubbing it with salt.  Some feel this had antiseptic purposes.  I can’t imagine it feeling good to have salt rubbed onto such delicate skin. 

As I prepare for birth of my baby boy, I have been reading scripture text regarding labor and delivery throughout the Old and New Testaments.  Today, a baby is wrapped in a particular manner at the hospital shortly after delivery.  

Nelson’s New Illustrated Bible Dictionary describes the cloth with which newborns were wrapped as a swaddling band (which) was a long, narrow strip of cloth used to wrap a newborn baby. To swaddle a child was to wrap an infant in strips of cloth, much like narrow bandages. This was believed to ensure the correct early development of the limbs. Thus, swaddling was a mark of parental love and care, while the need for swaddling symbolized the humble, dependent position of the newborn child…Although she could offer Jesus no better crib than an animals manger, Mary showed her mothers love by wrapping her baby in swaddling clothes (Luke 2:7, 12). The baby Jesus in swaddling bands reminds us of the great humility of our Lord in becoming a human being for our sakes.” (Youngblood, R. F., Bruce, F. F., Harrison, R. K., & Thomas Nelson Publishers. Nelson’s New Illustrated Bible Dictionary)

 
8 Comments

Posted by on January 4, 2009 in Photography

 

8 responses to “Swaddled

  1. lowandslow1

    January 4, 2009 at 5:55 pm

    Not only is your blog evolving, but your life will soon be evolving, too. Go with the flow. It will be good. 🙂

    S

     
  2. wildstorm

    January 4, 2009 at 6:24 pm

    I just hope we can be all the parents God wants us to be.

     
  3. Judy

    January 4, 2009 at 7:58 pm

    Awwww, so cute 🙂

    Yes, your blog really is evolving!

    I like that quote you have in here…

    “I took the one less traveled by, and that made all the difference.”

    You were so wise to take this choice. 🙂

     
  4. lovezao

    January 4, 2009 at 10:21 pm

    My babies were always what I called “wrapped up like sausages”, I felt to make them feel secure after leaving the womb. You will be a wonderful mother and I can’t wait to see your son! One day in Texas, we will get together!

     
  5. Wizardress

    January 5, 2009 at 10:43 am

    Oooh my goodness.. I didn’t even know you were pregnant. Where on earth have I been? I am SOOO happy for you and your husband, and I do know that y’all will be wonderful parents.

    *big hugs*

    oh and a question- being pro on wordpress, is there a big advantage?

     
  6. Wes

    January 5, 2009 at 11:05 am

    I may join ya over here

     
  7. kopain

    January 5, 2009 at 12:49 pm

    Hey there, Summer! I’m so happy for you guys on the baby! I seem to be spending time and updating over at Blogspot:
    http://thatsmysoulupthere.blogspot.com/

    Do you think WordPress is better?

     
  8. Itiswell

    January 6, 2009 at 2:59 am

    I always wrapped my children up a certain way for the same reason the Paula stated.

     

Leave a Reply

 
