RSS

Pana, Illinois

16 Jan

It’s along the route to Mt. Vernon, Illinois. I can’t remember if it was north or south of Pana, TX, but I passed this sign and had to turn around to take a photo. There was no time to drive to the ranch. City Slickers Quarter Horse Ranch. I like names such as this.

About Pana: Know as the City of Roses, it, like most towns in Illinois have some focus on President Abraham Lincoln. For there is some point of interest, attraction, historical marker, trail, that points to Lincoln.

It’s a small cozy little town ans as most are, tightly knit into the fabric of America. It’s one I wish I had more time in for there are plenty of interesting places to look at and very welcoming residents.

Photo shot with the Nikon and then Holganized.

 
7 Comments

Posted by on January 16, 2011 in Holga, Illinois, Photography

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

7 responses to “Pana, Illinois

  1. Sunny

    January 16, 2011 at 2:16 pm

    Hi Anita ! Oh how I love small towns and even small ‘villages’ The people are always so nice, accommodating and I always had a cozy feeling when I was done visiting those places 🙂

    Awesome shot with the Nikon! That will be my next camera, after much researching and pricing will have to save up !

     
  2. lowandslow

    January 16, 2011 at 5:47 pm

    “City of Roses”? Don’t anyone tell Tyler, TX they have “rose” competition or they’ll be re-fighting the Civil War. They’re pretty sserious about their Rose Capital standing, ya know. 🙂

    S

     
  3. wildstorm

    January 16, 2011 at 8:15 pm

    Hi Sunny. I am sure you will be happy with a Nikon. Plenty of good models out there and you already have an eye for taking pictures!

     
  4. wildstorm

    January 16, 2011 at 8:16 pm

    S, when I wrote this, I realized that I could cause a riot being a Texan and all and writing about another “rose” city.

     
  5. Pastor Larry

    January 18, 2011 at 10:15 am

    I love it Anita

     
  6. plaridel

    January 23, 2011 at 1:01 am

    hi, just curious… are you summerwind from the old journalspace?

     
  7. wildstorm

    January 23, 2011 at 9:31 pm

    Hi Plaridel. It’s me, Summerwind!

     

Leave a comment