RSS

Daily Archives: January 7, 2014

Refinery Road, Gainesville, TX

Image

If you are running late, the likelihood of your getting stuck in a long line of stock trailers is high.  It’s even higher when the heaviness of morning moisture grips the smell of livestock and manure until about noon when the gloom burns off.  I am used to this for I lived for a few years in Ontario California.  If at that time (prior to 2000) you lived anywhere near the 60 freeway you could guarantee in the June gloom the smell of the local dairies. 

Every so often as I head down the 82 westbound, I find myself behind a trailer loaded with cows or horses.  Mostly cows.  Sometimes goats.  No sense in passing for I’d get stuck behind another trailer just ahead.  We are all going to the same vicinity anyway so I might as well get a good look at the Charolais cattle ahead. 

The photo is of The Gainesville Livestock Market. 

 
1 Comment

Posted by on January 7, 2014 in Uncategorized