RSS

Traveler’s Hotel, Denison, Texas

23 Oct

Careful I am of writing about images I post on the web when researching other websites, photo galleries, etc. I won’t write too much about the subject of an image such as the one shown above. There are all kinds of stories, legends, and wild fabrications written by people who “claim to know” all over the internet.

Texasescapes.com shows to be pretty accurate with Texas history. According to Texasescapes
Built by a German sea captain named Ernst Martin Kohl, who opened it as a grocery store and saloon in 1893, it was converted into a hotel for railroad travelers in the 1930’s. You can go to the webpage to read more about this interesting structure. It’s occupancy is unknown by me although I’m sure if I ran across the street to the history Katy Rail Museum, there might be someone who knows the comings and goings of individuals associated with that property. It appears that someone is managing it for there are flower pots on the porch and some chairs that appear in good condition.

It’s always been one that I like looking at. It had its day in the sun I’m sure and it certainly stands with some authority. I sure would like to see it used as a lodge/bed & breakfast. Denison’s one of those kinds of towns—artsy, historic, rural.

If you have spent any time in the Traveler’s Hotel in Denison, tell me about it.

 
24 Comments

Posted by on October 23, 2011 in Photography, small towns, Texas

 

Tags: , , , , ,

24 responses to “Traveler’s Hotel, Denison, Texas

  1. Yvonne Bilbrey

    October 23, 2011 at 9:16 pm

    Hi, Many years ago many of our Haidressing get togethers for a dinner outing was held here. Quite fun and quant. Yvonne

     
  2. wildstorm

    October 23, 2011 at 9:30 pm

    Yvonne, I would love to see inside. Maybe one day it will be open. Thank you for sharing.

     
  3. Bobby

    October 24, 2011 at 1:15 pm

    I would never have known about this place if you didn’t post about it…Thank you.

    I LOVE Americana and you bring it in spades.

    Love ya,
    Bobby

     
  4. wildstorm

    October 24, 2011 at 3:51 pm

    Hi Bobby! So glad you read my blog. Means so much. I sure like sharing these images of points across Texas and elsewhere.

     
  5. lowandslow

    October 24, 2011 at 5:42 pm

    Looks like it could use some TLC, or better yet, some paint. You’re right about Denison: it’s an interesting old town. Have you visited the Dwight D Eisenhower birthplace home there?

    S

     
  6. swanpetal

    October 24, 2011 at 6:00 pm

    I really like this photo. It looks like a great building to explore. Love historical, rural, places. Thank you for posting this.

     
  7. wildwesty

    October 24, 2011 at 10:56 pm

    those type of places fascinate me…. if only those walls could speak!

     
  8. wildstorm

    October 25, 2011 at 8:46 am

    You know there are stories to be told!

     
  9. thiseclecticlife

    October 29, 2011 at 10:15 am

    Well, I can’t help but look at this and wonder what ghost stories there might be! In the 1970s, I used to go to Denison occasionally, and somehow missed this building. I will keep a sharp eye peeled for it when I go back again. Your photo capture is quite visually appealing.

     
  10. Nancy

    October 30, 2011 at 6:46 am

    What a great old building! I love it!

     
  11. Betty Brandt

    October 30, 2011 at 8:47 am

    My name is Betty Brandt
    My husband Bob Brandt owned and operated The Traveler’s Hotel with his brother’s Bill and Charlie in the 70’s.
    the Hotel was built in 1893….I have written material on the old Hotel.
    Someone bought it and we saw it a couple of years ago when we were in Texas. Their oldest brother had passed away. It is sad to me that I could not find any History on the Web.
    The last person who owned the Hotel was in my opinion distroying it, by remodeling the inside.

     
  12. Betty Brandt

    October 30, 2011 at 8:49 am

    Forgot to say it was operated as a Restaurant.

    After Bob’s brother’s left to have other’s career’s Bob and Operated the Restaurant until we closed it in the 80’s.

     
  13. Jack Matthews

    November 6, 2011 at 7:22 pm

    Wildstorm, you have a really great knack for taking pictures of the most interesting buildings! This hotel does have authority. It could be restored and become profitable — perhaps, depending on location. I see some features that may be Alsatian in it. I always like coming to your blog. Thanks.

     
  14. Jack Matthews

    December 24, 2011 at 10:59 pm

    Merry Christmas to you and yours, Wildstorm!

     
  15. masterharper

    January 6, 2012 at 12:13 pm

    I love t his picture

     
  16. burstmode

    May 15, 2012 at 7:42 am

    After reading all of the comments above, it seems like the place deserves a happy ending. It is photogenic and I’d love to see the insides, too.

     
  17. Bisogno Scotti

    May 17, 2012 at 4:49 pm

    Did you ever return to Pinnacles NM?

     
  18. Greg Jackson

    January 8, 2013 at 2:05 am

    The add-on on the back of the Travel’s Hotel was do by my father Dexter Jackson Sr. for the Brandt Brother who opened it as a restaurant back in the late 70’s early 80’s. I’ve been in the building back then and can remember all the wood work and hardwood floors that was in it back then.

     
  19. wildstorm

    January 15, 2013 at 9:30 pm

    Thank you, Greg, for your comment and sharing a bit of the history of this building.

     
  20. Julia Smith

    October 9, 2013 at 10:18 am

    My Aunt, Tina Moon, currently owns the Traveler’s Hotel as a private residence. She has been there ten years. The lobby serves as her business, Crossroads Realty. She has kept the charm of the hotel and it is lovingly cared for. There are no ghost stories. It is a spiritually happy home.

     
  21. mary

    December 14, 2013 at 1:29 am

    I live in Denison. I used to hang out in an upstairs studio of the Katy Depot. I would sit in the window gazing at the beautiful Travelers hotel at night

     
  22. Ernest Kohl

    January 15, 2015 at 12:47 pm

    My Grandfather and his family lived next door while THEIR NEW HOME was being built. I have a picture of it at that time with the wooden scaffolding in place. It was finished in 1909. He died in 1935 and the family continued to live there until it was sold to someone in the furniture business.
    Other owners followed and Realtor Christina Moon sold it last year. E. M. Kohl, Fort Worth, Tx

     
  23. Tovah Wilson

    September 14, 2015 at 5:57 pm

    I went there on day to go inside and see what they have going on in there but the doors were locked and the people that were inside looked at me funny and never came to the door. I would love to go on a tour of the place and see the history inside. Please if anyone knows the people that live there please tell them the public would love to enjoy there little piece of history.

     
  24. Betty Brandt

    April 11, 2016 at 9:50 am

    My name is Betty Brandt
    Bob Brandt and myself were the last owners of the Travelers Hotel
    Bob was, the, Chef
    We lived on the 4th floor
    Had a Bed and Breakfast on the 3rd Floor
    The last, owner took, this, beautiful Historical land mark, and remodeling it.
    I have awesome pictures of this hotel.
    Bob and his brothers, Bill and Charlie were the original, owners.
    bettybrandt@cox.ne

     

Leave a Reply

 
