RSS

North Texas Desert

25 Sep

There is no such thing–the North Texas desert. Yet it seems like it when you glance across the dry roasted pastures where nothing grows. What is green? The cedar trees. Even the oak trees have burned up leaves. The beautiful fall colors of this area won’t be apparent. Rain is not in the forecast for ten days. At least that is what the Weather Channel says today.

The cost of hay has sky rocketed. Most everything else has as well. My Arabian has always carried a few extra pounds and I still don’t quite understand how he maintains his roundness with nothing to graze on and my well measured feed and hay.

We took a walk to the pond. For those of you who have kept up with this blog, you may recall the pond pictures I’ve shared in the past. We’ve never seen the pond this low before. The advantage though is that we can have all that sediment scraped out. The tempertures remain in the mid to upper 90’s. Those activities that we share in each year are not even being planned for, at least not now.

We expect a long dry winter.

 
9 Comments

Posted by on September 25, 2011 in Photography, Texas

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

9 responses to “North Texas Desert

  1. lowandslow

    September 25, 2011 at 8:33 pm

    Yep, it’s reeeeeeealy bad. If it’s any consolation the Farmers Almanac calls for north Texas to have a warmer but wetter winter than normal. It can’t get here soon enough for me.

    S

     
  2. masterharper

    September 25, 2011 at 9:34 pm

    I remember West Texas in the dust bowl days of the 50’s

     
  3. wildstorm

    September 25, 2011 at 9:53 pm

    S, I should read the Farmers Almanac. I don’t know where I read about it being a dry winter. Maybe I heard it from a neighbor. Who knows. I’ll take a warmer Winter. It means I can ride my horse more!!!

     
  4. wildstorm

    September 25, 2011 at 9:54 pm

    Pastor, these are tough times aren’t they. At least West Texas has gotten some rain this year. I think more than we have.

     
  5. thedailyclick

    September 26, 2011 at 7:44 am

    I wouldn’t mind a whole bunch of snow this winter 😉

    My husband was in NYC for a couple of weeks in early August, and when he flew back (must have had a window seat), he said it looked like a desert.
    We need a nice steady light rain, that can soak into the ground and fill the ponds and lakes.

     
  6. Bobby

    September 27, 2011 at 8:05 am

    That is a very severe drought.

     
  7. Pam Acha

    September 30, 2011 at 2:30 am

    The pond is looking almost more dry that our dry lake in Lucerne Valley… amazing how water is the life and how the weather cycles. From the dust bowl to the flood in ’36 that left a watermark on the 5th floor of the Montgomery Ward building in Fort Worth. My boss told me his story of how he and his dad would row their dingy through the city streets.

    Interesting reading Anita, and the picture tells a story as well.

     
  8. geobiotex

    October 6, 2011 at 3:09 pm

    hello! please can u let me know your name? i liked a photo of a mushroom and its gills , and i am thinking of using it in a project for my university. With your permision of course!

     

Leave a Reply

 
