RSS

Josephine, Texas

24 Sep

With a population of 984 in 2009 I call it a town but they call it a city: City of Josephine. It’s along a route I sometimes take when making my rounds to visit clients each month. And as you can guess, it’s named after somebody’s sweet daughter and there was probably a train and some cotton involved. That’s how it is in these parts.

This Methodist church is situated across the street from the Baptist church. Now I didn’t stop in to talk to anyone but there was a suspicious neighbor who came out to see why I drove by and circled in the Baptist parking lot several times. In fact, I used that parking lot to make calls to the office and do some of the usual business I do for seniors. I should have gotten out and gathered information. As my devoted readers always know….the clock ticks.

Josephine United Methodist church has its own facebook page so I got to see some “inside” pictures. The front of the building as seen in the above photo led me to beleive that this structure was not being used.

 
7 Comments

Posted by on September 24, 2011 in Churches, Photography, small towns, Texas

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

7 responses to “Josephine, Texas

  1. mostlymonochrome

    September 24, 2011 at 9:50 am

    I find small town America fascinating.

     
  2. wildstorm

    September 24, 2011 at 10:03 am

    So do I, monochrome, as you can tell by my blog. Thanks for visiting. Jumping over to your page now.

     
  3. lowandslow

    September 24, 2011 at 10:19 am

    A little foundation issue, ya think? Sad how so many small towns are just holding on these days. Thanks for sharing your travels. 🙂

    S

     
  4. wildstorm

    September 24, 2011 at 2:56 pm

    You bet, S. And that is what drives me to capture what is left. It breaks my heart when I drive back through a town I photographed a few years earlier and it’s almost gone.

     
  5. burstmode

    September 25, 2011 at 1:48 pm

    An unusual architectural style for a church. The cracks can be attributed to the foundation. I like the second shot best.

     
  6. backroadrambler

    September 25, 2011 at 4:03 pm

    I live in the city now and I mostly enjoy it but there is nothing like getting out and driving through small towns. Like you, I love small town America.

     
  7. LocalYocal

    May 4, 2012 at 1:09 pm

    I actually live in Josephine, stumbled upon your site purely accidentally. There is some neat history with all of the local cities around Josephine. Believer it or not they were all once major railways and had hotels, banks, etc……

     

Leave a Reply

 
