RSS

All About The Horse

10 Jul

This image was posted on my facebook page and I’ve shared a bit about the situation with the headstall.  So that I can tie it all together, this will be the place. 

My gelding is so mellow these days.  He does have his spirit, curiosity, and fear of dragons.  But it takes a bit of work to get him to be real forward moving.  That’s what I told the bride that I photographed yesterday while she sat on his back on my English saddle riding up the driveway while her very long wedding gown draped around him hanging just inches from the red sandy earth.  She was a bit nervous that he would run off with her leaving her rolling off onto the ground ruining the gown.  No, Carter is lazy, a bit overweight, and not at all interested in running off away from that place that houses his feed and hay. 

The rat chewed through a couple of bridles in the barn last year.  Mine was one of them.  It was only the chin strap so I made an adjustment to it and continued using it.  But then, I found my rein chewed.  My favorite rein.  Those are replaceable however.  I started riding Carter with his training halter.  You know, that bright blue one that he wears in almost all photos; the one with the long thick white rope.  He has not had a bit in a couple of years.   We have become so accustomed to this way of handling now.  But one must look cool while out on the trail. 

I bought a side pull the other day.  A local tack shop lent me a Bitless Bridle to try.  Carter does not like this Bitless Bridle for it seems too restrictive for him.  He responds best with seat positioning and a very gentle pull to a stop.  I don’t like the leather with this particular bridle.  Also, when I gave slack to the rein, there was very little release.   Carter found this binding and tossed his head about. 

With that, I will continue to use the side pull.   It seems comfortable to him and it looks good on him.  All of skills I’ve learned with natural horsemanship has paid off.  I have a really good horse that I enjoy so. 

If only the temperature would cool down enough I can take him for a nice long ride.

 
6 Comments

Posted by on July 10, 2011 in My horses, Photography

 

Tags: , , ,

6 responses to “All About The Horse

  1. wildwesty

    July 10, 2011 at 10:17 pm

    that is such a darling photo…. I LOVE it!

     
  2. Ginny Little

    July 10, 2011 at 11:13 pm

    So hot and humid here cannot ride. Just like last summer and not good for horses or me. I draw strength, feel love, connect with them. NOT RIDING is not acceptable. I don’t use a saddle. I wrap my arms around their necks. They teach me trust and courage and love and more.

    It’s the best part of my life, my horses and dog.

     
  3. wildstorm

    July 11, 2011 at 8:04 am

    Hi Westy! Thank you. One of my favorite photos, it is.

     
  4. Bobby

    July 11, 2011 at 8:04 am

    Wonderful post and wonderful picture.

     
  5. wildstorm

    July 11, 2011 at 8:07 am

    Ginny, it’s 100 something every day. We wait until late evening to ride and it’s not hard riding at all. I use a light weight endurance saddle or ride bareback. The horses get messed with in some way or another. It’s necessary for my soul. It keeps us connected.

     
  6. wildstorm

    July 11, 2011 at 8:07 am

    Bobby, Thank you!

     

Leave a Reply

 
