RSS

Last Train To Clarksville

18 Jun

Well, maybe not. But once en route to Clarksville, Texas I had that song stuck in my head for the remainder of the day. Since Michael Nesmith spent a good majority of his childhood in Dallas, Texas it would seem like a good connection for the song.

The drive was long from Mt. Pleasant to Clarksville but quite pretty along the 37. This town is bulging with history and according to reports, a great many records from it’s earliest days are archived there. Clarksville is the county seat of Red River County. The courthouse is not in its original location. But at least it didn’t burn down like many have over the years.

It was a hot day in the town square.

 
9 Comments

Posted by on June 18, 2011 in Photography, small towns

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

9 responses to “Last Train To Clarksville

  1. Pam

    June 18, 2011 at 11:52 pm

    Beautiful shot

     
  2. Bobbie

    June 19, 2011 at 6:31 am

    This use to be the Blackmonds Pharmacy

     
  3. lowandslow

    June 19, 2011 at 2:39 pm

    Wonder how many today even know who Michael Nesmith was/is? Oddly enough my dad spent some time in Clarksville before WWII when he was VERY young and in the army. Believe it or not he was in the horse cavalry. Yes, they still had mounted cavalry in the late 1930’s. He said they wouldn’t have lasted 10 minutes in a shooting war, and fortunately they were deemed obsolete before Dec. 7 / ’41 and disbanded.

    I love your ongoing travelogue (sp?). 🙂

    S

     
  4. tcbntx

    June 19, 2011 at 11:21 pm

    I love that shot

     
  5. Jonny

    June 20, 2011 at 3:13 pm

    the picture of that old building makes me feel desolate-I hate to live in that town-looks old and hot

     
  6. plaridel

    June 20, 2011 at 5:45 pm

    this is one place I want to visit someday. 🙂

     
  7. Val

    July 2, 2011 at 4:57 pm

    I love that architecture… but it looks like someone built part of it and then had an afterthought! 🙂
    I remember the monkees… how that must date me!

     
  8. wildstorm

    July 3, 2011 at 10:54 pm

    This is a town I must return to. Val, the Monkee’s date me too. Oh well….their music never fades.

     
  9. Jenny Grantham

    July 7, 2011 at 10:03 pm

    Hi Anita! I love your blog 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
