RSS

Dreams Come True

13 Jun

When he was six months old, I photographed him on the back of my gelding. The image shows just him sitting squarely on the horse’s very wide back. Somewhere in Google-land, someone on a forum found this photo and the discussion became pretty heated. I laughed. But then I hid the entry. I like when people visit my blog but I don’t like when a big fuss is made.

It’s different now. He is two years old. He loves looking at the horse pictures and being out in the pasture with the three. He is careless and does not understand safe behavior around them causing us to constantly redirect. The gelding is gentle. However, a horse is a horse and the dragons lurk in the woods.

Today was the day I’ve been waiting for when the Kid asked to sit in the saddle and “ride the horsey”.

 
11 Comments

Posted by on June 13, 2011 in baby, home, My horses, Photography

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

11 responses to “Dreams Come True

  1. wildwesty

    June 13, 2011 at 10:36 pm

    I lvoe the photo, it looks so “nostalgic”, not just cute!

     
  2. Bobby

    June 14, 2011 at 7:28 am

    I love this picture.

     
  3. Ginny Little

    June 14, 2011 at 10:06 am

    WHAT a great photo. And hurrah that he wants to ride the horsey.
    I put kids on my mare all the time.

    You take great pix.

    Ginny

     
  4. elegies

    June 14, 2011 at 10:48 am

    I have no problem with horses and young children, as long as you know your horses. I spent much of my childhood on a horse, even before I was old enough to hold the reins.

     
  5. lowandslow1

    June 14, 2011 at 12:37 pm

    That one you’ll cherish forever. Too cool! ๐Ÿ™‚

    S

     
  6. Laura

    June 14, 2011 at 4:54 pm

    Precious. On a related note, I tend to believe that rural kids grow up stronger and healthier, simply because they’re allowed to get dirty. ๐Ÿ™‚

     
  7. Jayne

    June 16, 2011 at 12:33 am

    I can imagine the discussion and it illustrates why everything must be taken in context. I think it’s great that he has been introduced to horses at a young age and I can imagine how happy you must be.

     
  8. Krista

    June 16, 2011 at 8:20 pm

    What a wonderful photo. ๐Ÿ™‚ I just love it. ๐Ÿ™‚ The look on his face is priceless.

     
  9. wildstorm

    June 17, 2011 at 5:01 pm

    Thank you all for your comments. I’ve been away and have not been able to reply to each one individually. When I processed this image, I was lost in my own thoughts remembering way back as early as I could my first time on my horse.

     
  10. Val

    July 2, 2011 at 4:47 pm

    Lovely image. So sweet. ๐Ÿ™‚

     
  11. wildstorm

    July 3, 2011 at 10:53 pm

    Hi Val. Thank you for your visit and comment. The Kid has had a few more rides and we are so pleased that he isn’t afraid.

     

Leave a Reply

 
