RSS

Tornado Watching

22 May


Last month a typical springtime storm passed over the house and I was fortunate enough to capture some shots of a tornado forming above the field behind my house. More correctly, it was over the highschool. This afternoon, after close observation of “Texas Storm Chasers”, I followed the the storm rolling over the Dallas Metroplex. Fortunately it made it up to my place but only the edge. Thus, no hail but winds are damaging. The air is warm and just wicked feeling.

I grabbed the camera and ran outside, barefoot as usual, to shoot some mammatocumulus that I saw in one of my darling friend’s facebook page. My favorite cloud formation of all is the mammatus. The storm is moving fast and the wind is blowing so hard I almost fell over.

Prayers are said for those who have experienced loss over such tornadic activity today.

 
10 Comments

Posted by on May 22, 2011 in Photography, Washington

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

10 responses to “Tornado Watching

  1. lowandslow

    May 22, 2011 at 9:22 pm

    Absolutely incredible photo! Hope you’re safe. It is rolling through my area now, but isn’t too severe.

    S

     
  2. Doug

    May 22, 2011 at 9:36 pm

    Hi A.!
    Those are my favorite clouds, too, but I have only seen them once in real life. We usually only see the same old cirrus/cumulus and occasional thunder clouds 🙂
    Glad you captured those.

     
  3. wildstorm

    May 22, 2011 at 9:36 pm

    Hey S. Hope you don’t get anything more tonight. We were right on the edge of it as you can see in this photo. It was shot facing direct North. Behind me in the South, the sky was very dark.

     
  4. wildstorm

    May 22, 2011 at 9:41 pm

    Doug, I’ve seen them many times, but usually don’t have my camera with me. Very common in these parts, for this is tornado country and mammatus are often indicative of a particularly strong storm involving tornado activity.

     
  5. wildwesty

    May 22, 2011 at 10:06 pm

    I’ve seen clouds like that in my world, but they normally don’t turn into tornados….though even Germany has been having it’s share recently!

     
  6. Bobby

    May 23, 2011 at 1:50 pm

    Run like hell!!!

     
  7. Anna

    May 27, 2011 at 3:27 pm

    Love these kind of clouds… to watch and photograph.

     
  8. Nancy

    June 3, 2011 at 2:58 pm

    Wicked looking clouds! It has been terrible to hear about the devastation in some parts of the country. My prayers have been with them. We could use some rain here but please none of that tornado stuff!

     
  9. Laura

    June 3, 2011 at 8:00 pm

    Love the photo. Storms fascinate me, so it’s always nice to see some from other parts of the country. Thanks for your comments on my blog — just popped over there for the first time in forever to see I needed to approve some. Oops! I really want to start writing again, but feel way too dull to do so. Will try to come see you more often, whether I write or not. 🙂

     
  10. swanpetal

    June 7, 2011 at 8:38 pm

    Very cool photo! I miss storms like this but not the damage they cause… still sending prayers to those effected by such storms.

     

Leave a Reply

 
