RSS

It’s The End!

21 May

The last day.

Gone.

Nothing.

Bright Cloud was the last tall bearded Iris in that garden to bloom and it finally closed up it’s delicate contrasting petals today and shriveled to dry in the sun. I wish Iris would bloom all year long. There are re-bloomers but I don’t have any of those right now.

I cook beets tonight to make and can pickled beets and while doing so, I research the American Iris Society to identify some of these Iris. I have more than half of them named but will have to pull out the old Shreiner’s catalogues from way back when to see if I can find what some of these are.

Also while doing so, I ordered ten new rhisomes from Cooley’s on the West Coast. And with that order I get one of their fabulous bonus rhisome’s, Adobe Sand. Those I will plant in July and hope that I get blooms of of those in Spring 2012.

 
6 Comments

Posted by on May 21, 2011 in Flowers, Photography

 

Tags: , , , , ,

6 responses to “It’s The End!

  1. Diane

    May 21, 2011 at 9:45 pm

    Beautiful!!!

     
  2. wildstorm

    May 21, 2011 at 10:25 pm

    Thanks, Diane!

     
  3. wildwesty

    May 21, 2011 at 11:23 pm

    yes, lovely!!

     
  4. kate

    May 22, 2011 at 12:45 pm

    I am going to plant bulbs this fall. This past month I’ve been so jealous of those with tulips and irises. I am coveting everyone elses gardens, lol.

     
  5. wildstorm

    May 22, 2011 at 3:13 pm

    Kate, I just love Iris. I have about 30 planted in my garden and almost 20 different varieties. I’m still trying to identify some of them. Most of my Iris have been in the family and I’ve dug up the rhisomes but these can be bought at any Iris farm. I buy mine in Oregon at Shreiner’s or at Cooley’s and all are registered with the American Iris Society.

    Another bulb that I planted that was most successful was the ranunculus. I like that you’ve taken on gardening. I’ll pop over to see what’s growing.

     
  6. Laura

    June 3, 2011 at 8:03 pm

    Irises always make me think of my dad. He was a member of the American Iris Society, and hybridized his own. Just one of his many loves. He had some rebloomers (I did once, too) but I don’t know what happened to them. Maybe they aren’t as hardy? I felt the same way as you when I watched my last bloom curl up a week or so ago.

     

Leave a Reply

 
