RSS

Vacaville, California

03 Apr

This photo brings back memories. It’s been about 5 years since I worked in California, traveling back and forth from DFW to whatever assigned place in the Golden State. My favorite area was the Sacramento area. Southern California is far to stressful really. But having opportunities to drive around in the countryside after work made all the frustrations of the work day vanish.

I got lost on this drive. Getting lost is fine unless it’s dark. But if you drive far enough you’ll end up on some major road, maybe, or someone’s front door. I don’t recall where I found myself that evening but managed to make one big circle and find my way back to my toothbrush and pillow. The area was so beautiful with rolling hills, fruit orchards, farmland, and of course a couple of horses leaning over the gate in hopes I would hand them a carrot. They got their picture taken instead.

Vacaville is a town where I would consider living if I ever returned to California. It’s location is superb for it’s central to the ocean and to wineries. My post is beginning to sound like something you would find on a Chamber of Commerce website. Nevermind that. It’s when you drive along these roads off the beaten path that you can really absorb the true spirit of the area. You won’t find horses like these two along Interstate 5.

 
10 Comments

Posted by on April 3, 2011 in California, Photography, small towns

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

10 responses to “Vacaville, California

  1. Pastor Larry

    April 3, 2011 at 4:11 pm

    Those are cute horses ๐Ÿ™‚

     
  2. Virginia Little

    April 3, 2011 at 4:20 pm

    Those look like Icelandics unless I’m mistaken?
    Nice photo.

    Nice memory.

    Ginny

     
  3. lowandslow

    April 3, 2011 at 4:30 pm

    Except for San Diego, I MUCH prefer northern to southern California. (K and I were married in Carmel-by-the-Sea, CA.) I haven’t been much north of San Francisco, but based on your recommendation I’ll make it a point to explore further north the next time I’m out there.

    Those horses look so personable. ๐Ÿ™‚

    S

     
  4. Teraisa

    April 3, 2011 at 9:17 pm

    I love California, all over!

     
  5. wildstorm

    April 3, 2011 at 9:19 pm

    I know you do, Teraisa. =)

     
  6. Bobby

    April 4, 2011 at 10:17 am

    I have never been. Thank you for including me…

     
  7. lori

    April 5, 2011 at 11:33 am

    Those horses look very happy to see you ๐Ÿ™‚

     
  8. Nancy

    April 5, 2011 at 12:40 pm

    Adorable horses! Hubby and I would love to go back to California to do more sightseeing.

     
  9. plaridel

    April 6, 2011 at 8:21 pm

    sometimes getting lost can be a blessing. but don’t push your luck too much. don’t leave without a GPS now that’s available. you’ve been to california? awesome! ๐Ÿ™‚

     
  10. wildstorm

    April 6, 2011 at 10:34 pm

    Hi Plaridel. I don’t have a GPS and have gotten around the US without ever using one and always managed to find my way home. Perhaps I should get one. But it takes the fun out of the puzzle.

    And I used to live in California.

     

Leave a Reply

 
