RSS

Miller Grove, Texas

31 Mar

There are two towns by this name in Texas. One will be found in Camp County, the other in Hopkin’s County. I never paid much attention before when writing about my drive-by shootings that there might be more than one town with the same name. This morning I discovered that there was a Miller Grove in Camp county south of Pittsburgh and thought that maybe there was an error or that maybe 5:30 a.m. is too early to be writing in this blog.

Miller Grove (Hopkins County) is about fourteen miles south of Sulpher Springs. As I normally do I got stuck there behind 40 cars going 20 miles an hour through the school zone and stuck behind four school busses. People are no different here than they are in your town.

It is said that the population in Miller Grove in 2000 was 115. I am not sure when the new census figures are published but it sure seemed like there were alot more people in this town that a hundred something. The number of parents lined up to pick up their kids seemed to exceed that amount along with businesses and this church, I was sure there were more. Pretty little town, it is.

Maybe you know more. Write about it.

 
7 Comments

Posted by on March 31, 2011 in Photography, small towns, Texas

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

7 responses to “Miller Grove, Texas

  1. timkeen40

    March 31, 2011 at 6:11 am

    Great picture. Old country roads and little white churches. I love it.

    http://timkeen40.wordpress.com

     
  2. Pastor Larry

    March 31, 2011 at 6:33 am

    I love that picture. I preached at several congregations with building that looked like that.

    “Drive by shootings” I like that – with a camera instead of a gun. 🙂

     
  3. doanli

    April 7, 2011 at 2:43 pm

    I love photographing churches (and looking at pictures of them!)

     
  4. troy

    October 15, 2011 at 9:10 pm

    umm well i grew up there almost my whole life! and the people are different there you may not see it passing through but they live on a slower pace there! its just the way it is, but its home and i find myself always having great memories of this sleepy little town! the people are hard working and honest down to earth people and im proud to say that this town helped shape the person that i am today.in 1995 when i graduated high school there were 15 people that i graduated with…also i knew every kid in school from kindergarden thru 12th by first name!!!

     
  5. wildstorm

    October 16, 2011 at 1:44 am

    Thanks so much, Troy for sharing this. I drive through now more often through Miller Grove now that I have some clients in that region. I sure do appreciate when someone leaves a bit about themselves in that place I photographed.

     
  6. barbara thomas

    July 20, 2012 at 1:17 pm

    That is the church that my grandfatner John D. Bagwell attended church when he was a child. His Dad is buried there. HIs father died and in 1905 when he was 11 yrs old his Mother moved back to Alabama.I have visted several times for the reunion in May. He told me many stories about Miller Grove. He loved Tx and was a Texan all his life.

     
  7. wildstorm

    September 23, 2012 at 3:36 pm

    I drove by this church often over the past 2 years while working for a home care company. Thank you so much, Barbara, for your comment.

     

Leave a Reply

 
