RSS

Quinlan, Texas

24 Mar

It’s about 39 miles between Point and Rockwall if you take the 276. It’s a pleasant drive except for the 25 mph school zones that can cause grief. The drive time though is almost an hour and that’s if you are lucky not to get stuck behind an overloaded tractor/trailer hauling someone’s doublewide.

Just as I krept up on such a highway barge, I stopped in Quinlan, made a couple of phone calls while sitting under a tree in my car watching a mockingbird fussing over the squirrel running across the telephone cable. Funny, that bird was certain to take control of the city block. A man wearing a conductors hat walked out of his front door, sat on the squeeky plank of his old porch and lit up a cig. He watched me while I talked to my office manager about the day’s affairs. A breeze blew through my car flapping my loose notes on the seat. I started the car and drove off rounding the corner and discovering the Whistle Stop.

If it were open I would have gone inside.

 
11 Comments

Posted by on March 24, 2011 in Photography, Texas

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

11 responses to “Quinlan, Texas

  1. Bobby

    March 25, 2011 at 9:00 am

    I would have stopped in there to eat also. We bomb in on all kinds of cafe’s when we go traveling. Often we are pleasantly surprised.

    Cheers,
    Bobby

     
  2. Pastor Larry

    March 25, 2011 at 10:32 am

    This is awesome and you know that I love your small town photos.
    Thanks for sharing them.
    Larry

     
  3. burstmode

    March 25, 2011 at 12:17 pm

    I wonder what kind of ice cream…

    PS—Scott’s blog is a very interesting one. Stop by and see it:
    http://stphoto.wordpress.com/

    He is a good Nikon man!

     
  4. plaridel

    March 25, 2011 at 2:18 pm

    another postcard-perfect photo. thanks for sharing.

     
  5. timkeen40

    March 26, 2011 at 11:49 am

    I love finding the little out of the way places. It reminds me a lot of the place I grew up.

    http://timkeen40.wordpress.com

     
  6. Nancy

    March 26, 2011 at 9:57 pm

    I love this. Reminds me of the buildings in the town where I grew up.

     
  7. Elisa

    March 26, 2011 at 10:11 pm

    🙂 I really love little ice cream parlors like this one looks to be.

     
  8. wildstorm

    March 26, 2011 at 11:47 pm

    If only it was open.

     
  9. Kellie Elmore

    March 27, 2011 at 9:25 pm

    This reminds me of one I wrote called “salted peanuts & coca cola” if u wana read it u can find it under “my favorite things”
    I am in love with your blog! 🙂

     
  10. class factotum

    March 28, 2011 at 7:50 am

    We went to an art show on Friday and saw this adorable painting of a small town main street, with the focus being on the storefront with “Popcone” painted on front. I would have taken a photo but the gallery did not permit photos. All weekend, we’ve been talking about the “popcone” store.

     
  11. Katlin

    December 11, 2014 at 3:48 pm

    I live in Quinlan. I’d go here when I was little. The best homemade ice cream! Cookies and cream was my favorite. I never figured out why it closed, though. I’ll have to ask my mom.. 😦

     

Leave a Reply

 
