RSS

Celeste, Texas

23 Mar

Down there on the corner across the street is a thrift mart. It’s the last shop on the right. Cash only, no checks, no credit cards. One heck of a collection. Good stuff. Seems there are lots of customers when I pass by, always in a hurry and often without enough cash. Next time I travel through there, I’m taking a hundred bucks. Further on down the road, south along the 69 is another junk shop, or shall I say yard. All sorts of items to be found there and I always slow down to look, threaten to pull off and see what I can find, but one of two things occur: the clock is ticking faster than I can get there; there’s a truck behind me in some mad hurry to get somewhere.

Next month, I’m taking my own sweet time and will shop Celeste.

 
13 Comments

Posted by on March 23, 2011 in Photography, small towns, Texas

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

13 responses to “Celeste, Texas

  1. Teraisa

    March 24, 2011 at 12:29 am

    My favorite place to recycle books (in both directions); another great photo.

     
  2. lowandslow

    March 24, 2011 at 6:43 am

    It’s nice to see an old fashioned water tower, they kind that were everywhere when I was a kid. The new ones you see today try to be avant gard works of art.

    S

     
  3. Bobby

    March 24, 2011 at 10:58 am

    I haven’t been small town hunting in several weeks. Thank you for the picture and story.

    Cheers,
    Bobby

     
  4. swanpetal

    March 24, 2011 at 11:00 am

    Wonderful! I am sure you’ll find something great to take home!

     
  5. Teri

    March 24, 2011 at 11:47 am

    Love this little town. It’s the place Audie Murphy (my hero) grew up “in proverty”. On the southside of the town on Hwy 69 coming in, there’s a beautiful little park dedicated to Audie. Thanks for posting this. It’s typical “long ago” northeast Texas!

     
  6. booguloo

    March 26, 2011 at 7:52 pm

    I really like the picture and the added texture; it adds nostalgia.

     
  7. wildstorm

    March 26, 2011 at 11:48 pm

    Boo, I’ve processed several photos like this with such texture and really like them, especially on images pertaining to the past. Thanks for your comment.

     
  8. wildstorm

    March 26, 2011 at 11:49 pm

    Teri, I’ve seen that park and sure enjoy reading about Audie Murphy. I did not know that he grew up in Celeste until I stumbled upon that park. Thanks so much for your visit.

     
  9. Jamie Dedes

    March 27, 2011 at 9:30 pm

    Just love shopping in places like that.

    Another fab photo! Thanks!

     
  10. Jingle Poetry

    March 29, 2011 at 8:28 pm

    lovely shots, well done.

     
  11. Z Joya

    March 30, 2011 at 11:28 pm

    i like the texture here:0

     
  12. Shannon

    June 29, 2011 at 11:09 am

    Love the picture of Celeste! I have lived in Celeste most all of my life and love it here!

     
  13. wildstorm

    June 29, 2011 at 8:48 pm

    Hi Shannon. I love it there too and last time I was driving to Point, I stopped in Celeste and wondered through the neighborhood.

     

Leave a Reply

 
