RSS

Bloom

01 Mar

Greatly inspired by a favorite Seattle blogger , this image is one of many taken of a most photogenic bloom, the Iris. Some like the orchid. I love the Iris. These have been in the family for years.

“Lily Was Here” played in the wind while shooting these photos last year. I was barefoot standing on the warm earth while stepping around shadows during the late afternoon. My cold glass of sweet tea sparkled by the condensation that had formed. The snowcat tiptoed through the flowerbed gingerly sniffing the narrow space between the rows of Zinias. The rest of the world didn’t matter.

 
8 Comments

Posted by on March 1, 2011 in Flowers, Photography

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

8 responses to “Bloom

  1. Les

    March 2, 2011 at 7:07 am

    I am with you on Iris vs. Orchid.

     
  2. Cissy

    March 2, 2011 at 7:15 am

    Thank you. She’s lovely.
    Iris have a way of taking the Show! Large, beautiful and bossy. They raise their aristocratic heads and stand proud.
    And then just fade away……hmmmmm

     
  3. Pastor Larry

    March 2, 2011 at 7:28 am

    WOW great shot. I love both flowers. I can still remember seeing Orchids in Hawaii being cut down as weeds.

     
  4. wildstorm

    March 2, 2011 at 8:01 am

    I love what you wrote, Cissy. They may fade but they certainly live their mark in memory.

     
  5. Bobby

    March 2, 2011 at 9:34 am

    I always admire the detail of flowers when I see them through your eyes. While I see flowers I do not see them in their entire glory for long periods of time.

    Love,
    Bobby

     
  6. Val Erde

    March 2, 2011 at 8:31 pm

    Great to see this flower from a different perspective.
    🙂

     
  7. wildstorm

    March 6, 2011 at 11:39 am

    Hi Bobby!

    Val, these are my favorite to photograph and I will have more varieties in another month or two!

     
  8. Wizardress

    March 10, 2011 at 12:05 pm

    I love them both- but I think I’d probably choose the Iris over the orchid too. I’m also feeling pretty inspired, so I’m ready for the weather to clear up so I can get out and start photographing.

     

Leave a Reply

 
