RSS

Warmth In The Snow

09 Feb

The second storm blew in late last night and fortunately lasted until noon. But it’s cold out there. The horses coats are thick and they have shelter but I always think of them when it’s snowing.

We took a walk to the pond on Sunday and the ground was blanketed with sparkling snow. The air was cold but the sun felt warm. Two of the horses were lying down basking in the sunshine while the other followed us. It was apparent that they all had been running that day for it was evident by the tracks in the snow.

With snowfall there is a stillness. Quiet. Even on days following with the sunshine, it’s as if nature is on pause for a short time. It isn’t really, it just feels that way. The pond had a thin sheet of ice that showed areas where thawing was occuring. Small dry twigs stuck up through the glittery snow stretching up awaiting Springtime. Barren oak trees stand covered in nothing but what little snow sticks to the topside of their branches. A cold breeze chilled my face. Pulling my hood up, I walked back toward the house along side the gelding. He shelters me from the gusts. At the gait, I scratched his warm back and shoulder. He curled his neck around me and I gently rubbed his nose. I think he knows when I am cold. No. He doesn’t. He wants a treat out of my pocket and expects me to massage his back as I always do. Spoiled horse.

I don’t mind the winter months too much but could do without the snow and ice. Next week promised to have warmer days and I promise to ride my very round horse and burn off some of that extra weight.

 
7 Comments

Posted by on February 9, 2011 in home, My horses, Photography

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

7 responses to “Warmth In The Snow

  1. Jacqueline

    February 10, 2011 at 12:55 am

    I’m thinking: horses make snow SO much better. Clearly I need a horse to get me through the rest of this winter …

    ps Love the new blog look

     
  2. Cissy

    February 10, 2011 at 6:38 am

    The insulation that the snow provides is Ethereal.
    I wonder what live music would sound like?
    Gotta love a Happy Horse!

     
  3. Bobby

    February 10, 2011 at 9:53 am

    You guys have been getting your share of snow. We have even had three or four storms in Southeastern VA and I must say it is unusual for us…

     
  4. Virginia Little

    February 10, 2011 at 10:57 am

    I hear you on the cold of winter, the ice. Cannot ride in that and while I go out and tend to my horses and yes, they wrap their warmth around me as if they know, it is a long winter when I cannot ride and take them out for a walk in the quiet bliss of the woods.

    I’m glad to see that you don’t believe in blanketing and understand horses move to keep warm and have adequate fur. All they need is water, shelter and room to move about. Just got into a kerfluffle with someone who runs a “sanctuary” who insists horses, “the poor babies” need to be blanketed because “it makes them all feel better.” I suggested she might realize she is not doing her horses any favors by treating them as human babies rather than as the horses, and magic animals they are.

    Oh well. Everybody makes their own choices.

    Nice to see you have such close relationship and understanding of your horses. It’s a wonderful thing to experience, isn’t it???

    Cheers.
    ginny

     
  5. Val Erde

    February 10, 2011 at 11:05 am

    Beautiful horse, and love it against the snow. I hope he keeps warm. (And you!)

    One of the few things I like about snow is the silence. And the initial sight of it, but I weary of the stuff fairly quickly.

     
  6. swanpetal

    February 10, 2011 at 9:10 pm

    Lovely photo of your horse. He looks happy, even if there is snow. No snow here, just sunny skies but you can send me the snow.

    I like that icon over on the right about being nice… it’s funny!

    Have a great night!

     
  7. wildstorm

    February 10, 2011 at 9:31 pm

    To all my above commenters:
    Carter loves the snow, so long as he isn’t wet and cold. But then horses do have a way of keeping themselves warm as Ginny described. It doesn’t hurt them one bit being out there as long as they have their hay to munch on for that digestion also aids in warmth. Notice how round he is. Yeah, he’s happy.

    Snow: it’s all melted. I’m done with it really and I will happily pass it on to you SP. Val, I’m with you. I like the first day of it and am done with it by noon. Usually in Texas it is like that but this winter was a real kick in the rear.

     

Leave a Reply

 
