RSS

Treasures Inside

05 Feb

If I recall, this photo was taken in 2006 in Quanah, Texas. I will have to pull my notebook out and browse through the scribble pages of notes I take when on such excursions. The only reason to pass through Quanah is to travel to Amarillo. There is plenty reason to stop in Quanah but I’m not talking about that here.

It’s what is in the What Shop. I wanted to go inside but it was closed. In fact, I recall a “For Sale” sign on the door. I peaked in the front window clouded with time. Cluttered tables and shelves lined the walls. Mason jars, a couple of old can’s, an iron sat together as if ready to watch the evening news.

The little junk shop situated along the main road collected more than dust. For I know I am not the only passerby who wonders of the treasures inside.

 
11 Comments

Posted by on February 5, 2011 in Photography, Signs, small towns, Texas

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

11 responses to “Treasures Inside

  1. Cissy

    February 5, 2011 at 4:54 pm

    I get in trouble in those kind of places…..always find something I don’t need that I have to have!

     
  2. wildstorm

    February 5, 2011 at 7:43 pm

    Me too! It was a good thing it was closed.

     
  3. Pastor Larry

    February 6, 2011 at 7:26 am

    I had frogotten about Quanah though I drove through it many times on my way to Amarillo.
    Thank again for the wonderful reminders about my past with your pictures.
    🙂

     
  4. Doug

    February 6, 2011 at 1:04 pm

    I guess it needs to renamed The What-If Shop 🙂

     
  5. lowandslow

    February 6, 2011 at 2:19 pm

    Or maybe The Why-Not Shoppe?

    S

     
  6. wildstorm

    February 6, 2011 at 10:51 pm

    The WHAT? Shop

     
  7. Bobby

    February 7, 2011 at 11:59 am

    Welcome to the dust bowl. Pretty cool sign!!!

     
  8. Nancy

    February 8, 2011 at 7:06 am

    No telling what treasures are still sitting there gathering dust!

     
  9. The gold digger

    February 20, 2011 at 8:42 pm

    My Austin neighbor when I was in grad school (not the one who made frequent trips to Mexico in a rented car that he later vacuumed very carefully but I don’t think he was a drug dealer! even though people knocked on his door at all hours of the night! and even though he committed a lot of coupon fraud!) was named Quanah. A woman. She was a descendant of Quanah Parker, whom I hadn’t heard of before I met my neighbor, or, at least, did not remember from 7th-grade history.

     
  10. class factotum

    February 21, 2011 at 3:59 pm

    Hi WS – the other blog where you left a comment is my double-secret probation blog that my husband’s parents can never know about because I write about how mean they are there!

     
  11. wildstorm

    February 22, 2011 at 8:57 am

    Now I know. I’ve been reading class factotum it seems like forever. Thanks!

     

Leave a Reply

 
