RSS

Daydreams

04 Feb

The snow has stopped falling and water can be heard dripping off the rooftop onto the ground just below my window. A bright red cardinal swoops past.

I awoke early to the quiet of the morning, large flakes falling. My snow cat sat on the window sill peaking through the blinds below watching the birds. I sat at the dining room window and day dreamed about rides in the pickup across the countryside where the cows graze in the warm sunshine.

It is tax season and here on my desk lay stacks of documents for filing. Just as it is finished there are new bills, letters, applications, invoices. But I don’t like spending my days with this. Hence I get it done on this winter day for tomorrow the ice thaws. The sun shines.

There are three reasons for becoming a writer: the first is that you need the money; the second that you have something to say that you think the world should know; the third is that you can’t think what to do with the long winter evenings.”
~Quentin Crisp quotes (English Author, 1908-1999)

 
6 Comments

Posted by on February 4, 2011 in Black and White, home, Photography

 

Tags: , , , , ,

6 responses to “Daydreams

  1. Wizardress

    February 4, 2011 at 2:32 pm

    Gorgeous photo and thoughts to go along with it- I love the quote- it made me smile- just like the picture.

    hugs

     
  2. Cissy

    February 4, 2011 at 7:42 pm

    You have touched my heart, yet again.

     
  3. Virginia Little

    February 5, 2011 at 9:43 am

    I spent many cold days rummaging through receipts and compiling taxes. Not a fun task but once it’s done and mailed, one feels good about doing it. Amazing where money goes and how fast when you add it all up. Not a numbers person at all, myself. So can relate.

    It is the coldest January since 1917 here in Michigan tho I love the buckets of snow we’ve gotten. It’s beautiful and better white than when it turns to slushy snirt, snow and dirt combined. And the red cardinals with the white backdrop are one of my favorite winter images.. We see the world in similar ways, Wildstorm.

    Love your quote at the bottom!! So true…

    Ginny

     
  4. lowandslow

    February 5, 2011 at 10:01 am

    Beautiful vision. I guess I’m an oddball, though, as I actually like the snow. This morning (Saturday) K and I took a 1.5 mile walk through it. It wasn’t as bad as it might sound; it was sunny, the winds were calm, and the snow was a dry powder. Hope you have a wonderful Saturday, too.

    S

     
  5. Sunny

    February 5, 2011 at 12:12 pm

    Hi Anita ! I love that scene…farmland. But am counting my blessings that I’m warm here in St Petersburg FL and not where the snow and ice is.
    I love that quote tooo 🙂

     
  6. Anna

    February 5, 2011 at 4:22 pm

    Beautiful black and white scene, and my kind of countryside with cows scene.

     

Leave a Reply

 
