RSS

Let’s Eat!

03 Feb

Every bird in my town is in my backyard on the feeder kicking seeds around, and filling up on what I’ve put out for them. Well, almost. There are two pairs of cardinals and this is one of the females.

The days have been very cold and snow remains on the ground-about 2 inches. The roads remain icey but more safe than before to drive. We expect more snow tomorrow.

I don’t mind being at home for days. Some get cabin fever. At one time, I did. But after years of travel and being away from home so much, there’s nothing better than being right here. Besides, there is plenty to do here: sewing, playing with my boy, writing, painting, and of course, taking and processing photos. Did I mention how much I love to cook? It’s my 3rd day home and I snuggled up this morning with my cat lying on my back purring and kneading and thought about this new home and the peace and creativity it offers.

The coffee brewed while I got dressed, put on my socks and tiptoed into the baby’s room. He remained asleep. Water began to boil while a box of oats sat next to two small bowls.

A male cardinal swooped in and moved all other birds off the feeder.

 
8 Comments

Posted by on February 3, 2011 in home, Photography

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

8 responses to “Let’s Eat!

  1. Bobby

    February 3, 2011 at 12:16 pm

    I have always loved watching the birds…

     
  2. swanpetal

    February 3, 2011 at 12:42 pm

    Love birds… and your second photo is wonderful! Your days home sound so pleasant… 🙂

     
  3. Val Erde

    February 3, 2011 at 8:13 pm

    Your writing is reminiscent of mine – writing about birds, about feeling peaceful where you live. Lovely.

     
  4. bard

    February 4, 2011 at 10:15 am

    Fantastic pictures!

     
  5. BethanyC

    February 4, 2011 at 11:36 am

    Thought of you this morning as we were watching streaming news video from your part of Texas. Are you snowed in?

     
  6. wildstorm

    February 4, 2011 at 11:45 am

    Snowed in, yes I am!

     
  7. wildstorm

    February 4, 2011 at 2:04 pm

    I could watch the birds all day.

     
  8. Sunny

    February 5, 2011 at 12:15 pm

    Again…makes me feel like back home, thankyou for memories 🙂 Dad always built the bird feeders and my family and I loved to watch in the winter time. Mom would say “shhhhh” be quiet so we don’t scare them away!”

    Gorgeous shots of your birdies! So cute and the photos look ‘alive’!

     

Leave a Reply

 
