RSS

Sold Out

31 Jan

People are funny that way. They rush to the market just hours before a major storm to stock up on anything and everything. We usually have enough but tonight I needed to pick up another loaf of bread, a gallon of cow juice, and a few other small items to have on hand. As I entered the store, the grocery carts were all being used by customers except for one. I made my way down the produce isle toward the dairy section. Only 2 bananas remained. I grabbed them and placed them gently in the basket. A gallon of milk was all that I needed and apparently what the entire town of W** needed too. There was no ground meat in the butcher shop. Fortunately I have plenty in my freezer.

Tonight, sometime during the late night, early morning hours a severe winter storm is forecasted to pass through leaving up to five inches of snow and sleet over the course of the next few days. Do you know where I might find some sled dogs and a toboggan to get to work tomorrow?

 
6 Comments

Posted by on January 31, 2011 in Photography, windows

 

Tags: , , , , ,

6 responses to “Sold Out

  1. swanpetal

    January 31, 2011 at 10:52 pm

    Wow… I need to catch up on the weather.

    There are also people who stock up on weird items such as donuts. I remember many years ago right before a storm a guy was buying boxes of donuts. It was funny.

    Stay warm!

     
  2. lowandslow

    February 1, 2011 at 8:42 am

    Bread? Milk? Bananas? What about the important stuff, like toilet paper? 🙂

    S

     
  3. Bobby

    February 1, 2011 at 10:39 am

    I have also seen th time where stocking up an goods was a VERY good idea.
    I have been without power for a week and have to confess that making ICE and storing all of our stuff in Coolers was beneficial. Hurricane damage was intense for many people…We were completely spared damage in terms of the downed trees in our lawn.

    We grilled out every night and played lumberjack through the day. Most importantly we helped our neighbors and had fabulous parties with live entertainment and fireworks almost every night.

    You never knew who or what would show up for dinner with everyone losing so much to a thawing freezer. I think we all gained weight!!!

    I hope it isn’t that drastic for you.

    Make the best of it…

    Love,
    Bobby

     
  4. Cissy

    February 1, 2011 at 12:25 pm

    we’re getting the same storm tomorrow. today is a coastal one. the snow is so high we can’t see over it at intersections. I guess it must be Winter…..

     
  5. wildwesty

    February 1, 2011 at 1:02 pm

    if it gets as bad as I hear it’s supposed to, I don’t think ANYONE will be going to work! Seems to me, staying home would be VERY smart!

    Dorrie

     
  6. plaridel

    February 1, 2011 at 5:18 pm

    the weather is really getting weird. we’re having spring-like weather in california while you’re experiencing the worst winter in years. can you work from home? from what i’ve seen on tv, it’ll be horrible in the next few days. take care.

     

Leave a Reply

 
