RSS

Sink Cat

04 Jan

Most families that have a cat are familiar with this: the cat that drinks from a running faucet most likely in the bathroom at their demand. Do you have one? I do and she’s 15 years old. Fourteen and a half years have been used for this purpose every single morning at 5 a.m. and again at 6:30 a.m. In the evening at about 8 p.m. she yells at us as we relax to watch a movie or simply catch up on a project around the home. It is no exageration when I write that she yells. And it begins as she comes out of the bedroom from whereever she’s been napping. It does not stop until one pays her the attention of walking back to the bathroom, mine particularly, and turns on the faucet just enough for a fine stream and leaves. Please leave the light on.

Mind you, this contributes each month to that little postcard that comes in the mail with a perforated edge that is to be submitted with a payment of $….well never mind that but that’s how it’s been for a good portion of my life.

She’s been a good cat. She snuggles with me at night, provides me with a massage at bedtime, purrs me to sleep, catches mice, bugs, and an occasional bird and brings them to me as if I am the most amazing human in her life. But I am. Really! I don’t care too much for having the dead bird inside. Rather I’d prefer she kept these things out of doors. As she has aged, she does not always end the life of her prey so successfully. Hence it is likely that the bird she just brought in is still alive and can fly. And it does. Birds and chipmunks are most difficult to catch.

The important thing is that she is a good companion, has great health for her age and still plays as she always has. She brings constant joy to our family although she has absolutely no use at all for the newest member of our family, our baby boy who is so amused by her.

This photo serves as #4 of 365, taken with the Nikon D50 and who knows what the settings are. I was lucky enough to get this as is.

 
12 Comments

Posted by on January 4, 2011 in cats, Photo A Day, Photography

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

12 responses to “Sink Cat

  1. swanpetal

    January 4, 2011 at 11:05 pm

    Aww, waiting patiently for the photo!

    My cat is not a sink cat but Stevie is at times. Although he just spends minutes drinking and not enormous amounts of time there. He has a fascination with toilets as well. I could just imagine how much the water bill is… but that’s no match for a great companion.

     
  2. swanpetal

    January 4, 2011 at 11:06 pm

    Ah ok, I see it. She’s so pretty and she looks so happy!

     
  3. MrScribbler

    January 4, 2011 at 11:10 pm

    It’s a great photo, but I could never have taken it. My cats wanted bottled water, preferably in a glass bowl. More expensive than that little stream from the faucet, I think.

     
  4. Diane

    January 4, 2011 at 11:24 pm

    I love the kitty. They are notorious for bringing us ‘gifts’, aren’t they? Sure do miss my Buddy. He was a Persian cat, who I loved more than I knew was possible. Great picture!

     
  5. Cissy

    January 5, 2011 at 6:20 am

    Snow Cat is a doll.
    I had a Bengal named Maybe that did that. My Pepper Cat was a neglected rescue and takes what she can get. Usually, she is a cat after all.

     
  6. Anna

    January 5, 2011 at 8:45 am

    A great shot of sink kitty! I have had cats preferring to drink from the sink. Neat about cat characteristics. Enjoyable post. 🙂

     
  7. Bobby

    January 5, 2011 at 10:39 am

    I have had only 3 cats in my life and they have taken me all the way up to my current age. (2 are deceased and I miss them both)

    I love it when they display their personality…

    Cheers,
    Bobby

     
  8. lowandslow

    January 5, 2011 at 5:56 pm

    I wonder if she tells all her cat friends, “These humans are so cute. I have them wrapped around my little finger….er…..”?

     
  9. Deanna

    January 5, 2011 at 10:51 pm

    Adorable kitty! Ours prefers to lick the shower stall…but I’ve gotten a few shots of hm sitting on the bathroom sink trying to attack the other cat

     
  10. Preston

    January 6, 2011 at 10:49 am

    Sink Cat sounds like a very special kitty.

     
  11. Lori

    January 7, 2011 at 11:07 am

    I haven’t had much time to catch up on blogs, but I wanted to come see snow kitty-

    Mister M. does exactly the same thing- He loves the bathroom sink and he’ll sometimes cry for us to turn on the water- while other times we won’t see him for a while and we’ll go look and there he’ll be- sitting on the side of the sink waiting for someone to pass by and turn on the water.

    The fact that he has fresh water in his bowl isn’t enough- he loves the streaming water from the sink in the bathroom AND if I’m taking a bath he sits on the side of the tub and waits for me to turn the shower head on, and drinks water out of it as well.

    I should have done a photo a day for a year- I’m a little late now :/

     
  12. wildwesty

    January 8, 2011 at 2:24 am

    Since I commented in another place you posted, I didn’t stop here. But I thought you might enjoy seeing some kitty photos, and videos, of my Shila… a few “sink” pictures are there as well! lol

    http://www.dorrie.de/family/Shila/shila.htm

     

Leave a Reply

 
