RSS

1-1-11

01 Jan

The first day of this year started off just right in that the weather was gorgeous. The temperature was cold, say 39 at midday but the wind was one mile per hour or less. Not a cloud in the sky, making for a perfect day to ride my horse. And I did just that.

On days such as this, the horses feel good. They enjoy the cooler days and can often be seen in the afternoons racing across the pasture, followed by a snort and blow and then off again charging through the trees and across the open field. My gelding under saddle is not allowed to behave in this manner but I do give him an opportunity for a good run while I am hanging on for dear life. For today, he confused the trot with the canter and the canter with the Kentucky Derby.

After a swift trek back to the barn, I took a walk to the pond at late day and watched the stillness. But the pond isn’t so still. On occasion I’d see a very small subsurface disturbance causing small ripples. There is plenty to be observed even in the winter months.

This shot was taken with the Nikon D50.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on January 1, 2011 in Photo A Day, Photography

 

Tags: , , ,

4 responses to “1-1-11

  1. Cissy

    January 2, 2011 at 12:34 am

    Love your pond….made my day….

     
  2. lowandslow

    January 2, 2011 at 11:37 am

    Wow. Your photo is amost surreal. Nice! Hope you and your family have a wonderful 2011.

    S

     
  3. Backroad Rambler

    January 2, 2011 at 9:04 pm

    I love your pond. It seems so surreal and soothing.

     
  4. Doug

    January 3, 2011 at 4:07 pm

    I love shots like that. Windless days are rare here (or at least most times when I have my camera…), so I take the opportunities when I can.

     

Leave a Reply

 
