RSS

Clairemont, Texas

19 Dec

Clairemont Texas is located on US 380 in Kent County East of Post. This photo was taken sometime in 2006. I’ve been back in 2007 and the door had been painted a burnt sienna color. I prefer the graffiti. This old red sandstone jail house is in pretty good condition really but graffiti and vandalism is a problem in remote areas such as this along a busy highway. This is known as the Kent County jail. It is quite interesting though to be here under a full moon.

More information on this jail can be found HERE.

 
9 Comments

Posted by on December 19, 2010 in Photography, small towns, Texas

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

9 responses to “Clairemont, Texas

  1. Teraisa J. Rogers

    December 20, 2010 at 5:49 am

    Wonderful pictures and I like your layout today!

     
  2. Pastor Larry

    December 20, 2010 at 10:31 am

    Very cool – I love it I have been there.

     
  3. Bobby

    December 21, 2010 at 11:51 am

    Always interesting to read…

     
  4. burstmode

    December 21, 2010 at 1:57 pm

    One of my favorites. I actually like the graffiti.

     
  5. Doug

    December 22, 2010 at 10:28 pm

    How apt that you posted a shot with “NOEL” in it 🙂

    Merry Christmas to you, Anita, and your family.

     
  6. Anna

    December 24, 2010 at 3:31 pm

    Interesting old jail house as I haven’t seen red sandstone before.

    Merry Christmas to you and yours!

     
  7. Lin

    December 27, 2010 at 7:24 am

    It takes a sharp & wonderful eye to find the Art in the ordinary & the commonplace. I especially appreciate the second photo. It’s almost cinematic!

    Happy Holidays!

    One.

     
  8. Rinn

    December 27, 2010 at 2:07 pm

    Got your message! Glad you found me!

     
  9. Nancy

    January 4, 2011 at 6:47 am

    I love it! I am a big fan of old building pictures!

     

Leave a Reply

 
