RSS

The Night Before

15 Dec

Tonight is the last warm night before the cold front moves in bringing snow on Friday. And this evening was gorgeous. Wearing my scrubs, I saddled Carter up and rode for a half hour. The day was late and it would be dark soon. I had to ride him and I could tell he really enjoyed his ride.

That is one part of my riding goal-to have my horse enjoy this time under saddle, or bareback. On occasion we take a ride and he is just going through the motions. With that, I try to change things up and make it interesting. We can do that now that he is older and not so freaked out about newness. Heaven forbid leaving the tractor parked up near the house for lawn mowing for it was sure to gobble us up. Nowadays, he looks at something, I deal with thresholds, we move on. It’s quite nice. In the trot, I could see it in his eye, feel his energy. I think he knew I was having fun too.

Goals have been set so that by Spring I will have accomplished them. If only the Winter is kind enough to us so that I can work all the way through the wretched season.

This photo was taken in 2007 when we played in the south pasture.

 
10 Comments

Posted by on December 15, 2010 in Black and White, My horses, Photography

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

10 responses to “The Night Before

  1. exileimaging

    December 16, 2010 at 2:14 pm

    Absolutely beautiful photo, and your description of riding was so enjoyable to read. I hope you have a gentle winter.

     
  2. lowandslow1

    December 16, 2010 at 8:51 pm

    Snow on Friday? Yikes! I know I’ve been out of it for a couple of days, but I had no idea snow was coming. Forget the TV weatherguessers. I’m gonna just look here first for the forecast.

    Hope you can stay on track with your goal.

    S

     
  3. wildstorm

    December 16, 2010 at 9:11 pm

    S, the Friday forecast for my neighbohood: Mostly cloudy. Isolated sprinkles or flurries in the morning…then isolated sprinkles in the afternoon. Highs in the upper 40s. Northeast winds 5 to 10 mph.

     
  4. swanpetal

    December 16, 2010 at 11:11 pm

    I like how you processed this photo of your horse!

     
  5. wildwesty

    December 16, 2010 at 11:59 pm

    that photo is AMAZING!

     
  6. Anna

    December 17, 2010 at 11:10 am

    That is an absolutely gorgeous photo! Wow! Essence of Horse.

     
  7. Bobby

    December 17, 2010 at 12:44 pm

    Always interesting to read about the personality of your horse…

    Love,
    Bobby

     
  8. Pastor Larry

    December 19, 2010 at 4:25 pm

    I love you horse pictures

     
  9. bevbux

    December 23, 2010 at 11:35 am

    Great shot and interesting about the reaction to things being out of place. We were walking Copper on a local street pmce, and a station wagon was parked where there had never been a vehicle parked before.

    He detoured clear way over to the farthest edge of the opposite side of the street before he would go past it. I had never seen that kind of behavior in him before, so this was interesting to read.

     
  10. Maggie Mae

    December 28, 2010 at 3:41 pm

    Great photo, great post!

     

Leave a Reply

 
