RSS

Nevada, Texas

13 Dec

On my way to Royce City on Saturday, I called my friend in California and told her I was in Nevada. Of course I got an invite for dinner that evening; one that I declined.

It’s a place I had never traveled to. Maybe I had at night after the sun crashed below the flat western skyline and zipped right through without seeing it. The people are friendly, the land stretches far while a few John Deere tractors hold down the fabric right up at the corner of the two roads north of town.

As with many Texas towns, a tornado blew in the year 1927 and this church was there to see it. The church, according to historic accounts, served as a shelter, a hospital, and a morgue during this storm. It is written that 27 people were killed. The town never recovered from that disaster. Right now there is somewhere around 500 people in Nevada, Texas.

Next time, I’m going to have to stay a while and learn more about the
construction on the little church just down the street from this one.

 
7 Comments

Posted by on December 13, 2010 in Photography, small towns, Texas

 

Tags: , , , , ,

7 responses to “Nevada, Texas

  1. Jack Matthews

    December 13, 2010 at 8:38 pm

    You do find the backroads of Texas to write about. I never knew there was a Nevada, Texas. That looks like an old church, but its windows seem like new stained glass.

     
  2. wildstorm

    December 13, 2010 at 10:20 pm

    Jack, there is a historic landmark sign right out front with a brief history of this church. I would like to talk to someone in person about the town and the church. The age of those windows is unknown to me but surely there is a story about the upkeep of the building.

     
  3. Bobby

    December 14, 2010 at 10:39 am

    Nice pic…

    Stop for a second and take those dinner invitations to heart. They are usually wonderful.

    Merry Christmas buddy!!

    Bobby

     
  4. wildstorm

    December 15, 2010 at 6:56 am

    Thanks Bobby! I rarely turn down a dinner invite. However, I wasn’t in the state of Nevada, but still 1600 miles away. Hope you are enjoying every minute of this season!!

     
  5. anonymous

    January 22, 2011 at 5:18 pm

    hello, I went to this church for about 7 years? since I think 2000? I loved this church. It’s 2 stories because when you go down stairs there’s a room where you can go and see the destruction that was left from the tornado that hit. I miss this church dearly… It was very old. But it was used as a church for awhile. My moms bestfriend’s husband was the youth pastor for a long time. Since they moved it went down hill.. Now the state I think is making it just a historic landmark thing. It breaks my heart literly that they won’t keep it as a church.. It was an amazing church were everyone knew each other. I’m 14 and I wa baptized here when I was eight.. I wish with all my heart it was a church that used to go to when I was younger..

     
  6. Preacher Kyle

    March 19, 2011 at 8:29 pm

    I pastor a small church in Nevada (Landmark Baptist Church). The church was recently taken over by a mega church to make it a satellite church it is now known as Cottonwood Creek Nevada Campus.
    There are a few people still worshiping in it on Sundays and Wednesdays. It is very beautiful on the inside old, original wood work. Obviously it has had some modifications over the years. The stain glass though they may not be original to the building are very old, they have put protective glass on the outside of them to protect them from vandals and storms, and other events.
    This building is 99 years old. I do know a few people who go there and could possibly connect you with some of them, if you contact me via the email address that I sent you.

     
  7. James Stringer

    November 10, 2013 at 8:58 pm

    I am a new member of Cottonwood Creek. Its a small town church with local members. It became part of a three campus church a few years ago. All that means to me, is the church is better funded than the church I came from. There have been a lot of renovations made. Today, my Sunday school class had a workday to create more class space. The church is on the rise with a great preacher and a friendly hometown crowd. We began an Awana program on Wednesday nights. Now my son is surrounded with lots of kids.

     

Leave a Reply

 
