RSS

Today

12 Dec

“But the biggest mistake I made is the one that most of us make while doing this. I did not live in the moment enough. this is particularly clear now that the moment is gone, captured only in photographs. there is one picture of the three of them sitting in the grass on a quilt in the shadow of the swing set on a summer day, ages 6, 4 and 1. and I wish I could remember what we ate, and what we talked about, and how they sounded, and how they looked when they slept that night. I wish I had not been in such a hurry to get on to the next thing: dinner, bath, book, bed. I wish I had treasured the doing a little more and the getting it done a little less.”

Anna Quindlen

 
10 Comments

Posted by on December 12, 2010 in home, Photography

 

Tags: , , , , ,

10 responses to “Today

  1. Sunny

    December 12, 2010 at 9:51 am

    I wish I would have spent more time with my children and now they are all grown up with families of their own…I was always hurried to do this or that! I was a single Mom most of the time, as my husband was gone on the road, most all of the year.

    ( your blog background looks beautiful ! )

     
  2. wildstorm

    December 12, 2010 at 10:15 am

    Hi Sunny. I just love that quote and need to read it often to remind myself to slow down. Thanks for the compliment. This is one of WordPress’ templates.

     
  3. lowandslow1

    December 12, 2010 at 12:19 pm

    That’s a cool photo. How’d you do that? And the quote; yes, we spend too much timing reminiscing (sp?) about the past and planning the future, and don’t seem to enjoy the here-and-now. Thanks for the reminder.

    S

     
  4. Sarah

    December 12, 2010 at 1:12 pm

    Lovely – photo and quote. And both (photo and quote) are so true.

     
  5. Jack Matthews

    December 12, 2010 at 3:07 pm

    What we ate, what we talked about and how they looked at night when asleep….

    This quote prompts an ache, a deep-down, full-throttled ache that stops our frivolity, our nauseating consumption of things. How I wish I could caress the beautiful tresses of my daughter when she was a child.

    The photographs we have of our children and kin and friends stimulate me, us, to value dearly the moment we have and pine for those moments past.

    It’s not guilt; it’s sadness that we did not embrace them enough.

     
  6. wildstorm

    December 13, 2010 at 8:36 am

    S, the effect is very simple in this picture. Photoshop filter is used and I believe it is “glass”. I did very little to get this.

     
  7. wildstorm

    December 13, 2010 at 8:36 am

    Thank you, Sarah.

     
  8. wildstorm

    December 13, 2010 at 8:39 am

    Jack, when I found this quote, I jotted it down immediately and found myself memorizing it. Making every effort now to embrace time in all that it gives as short as it is.

     
  9. Pastor Larry

    December 13, 2010 at 8:43 am

    We have to make the most of every moment we have with our children.
    1. They grow up so fast.
    2. I have buried enough children to know that they are fragile.
    3. It is too easy to pass up a chance to say I love you to a child.

     
  10. Bobby

    December 13, 2010 at 2:13 pm

    Life moves very fast doesn’t it?

    Love,
    Bobby

     

Leave a Reply

 
