RSS

Sweet Sixteen

06 Dec


Shall I throw her a party? I am certainly going to celebrate her sixteenth birthday by sending a card and small gift to the Devore Animal Shelter, just North of San Bernardino. That’s where I adopted her in 1995.

So much has changed for her and I have written about it on this blog several times. She still hunts and brings her treasures to me. Unfortunately these days they are not always dead. That leaves me with a mouse and a phone call to my local exterminator. It was time for that quarterly visit anyway.

She hasn’t slowed down much really. Her naps are longer but she continues about this time at 10 p.m. to zoom right pass darting through the living room, sliding through the kitchen and stopping to do nothing but a loud “meow”. “Look what I did”.

The reason I have a rather large utility bill is because of her drinking problem. Does anyone out there know of a device I can put in the sink in my bathroom that when pressure is applied, the water comes on and when released the water shuts off? You see, she demands running water several times a day. Sometimes we forget to turn it off and although it is a small stream of water, it does run us over our budget.

In her later days, she appears to be quite content, has her space on the bed to sleep, a huge back yard to explore, a serving of Fancy Feast daily and a steady stream of water at her whim. Probably the only real conflict causing her grief on a daily basis is a 20 month old child who wants so badly to play with her. She is not amused. She hisses at him regularly but has never bit or lashed out. No aggression in this sweet feline.

What a wonderful life we’ve shared so far and I look forward to many more.

 
7 Comments

Posted by on December 6, 2010 in cats, home, Photography

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

7 responses to “Sweet Sixteen

  1. swanpetal

    December 7, 2010 at 12:13 am

    Happy Birthday to kitty! She is so pretty. Give her a party and a candle… what would we do without our furry friends?!

     
  2. Bobby

    December 7, 2010 at 10:39 am

    16 is a very wise cat age…

     
  3. Anna

    December 7, 2010 at 12:06 pm

    Happy Birthday to your sweet sixteen kitty! Lovely photo!

     
  4. lowandslow1

    December 7, 2010 at 4:11 pm

    Sounds like Kitty has a pretty sweet life. I wouldn’t mind coming back in my next life as one of your pets. 🙂

    S

     
  5. Anita Carville

    December 7, 2010 at 4:17 pm

    Happy Birthday, Kitty. Sounds like a wonderful life. Your rescue kitty certainly got blessed. LOL, my cat, Murphy has the same drinking habit! When we moved to our house 7 years ago, John said no more getting up on the sink to drink, so we switched to the bathtub. He hops in there under the faucet about 3 times a day, frequently leading me back to our bathroom to turn it on. We try to turn it off when we’re done, but lots of times forget. I’ve wondered about an automatic faucet too. The cat never drinks out of his own waterbowl, but if he ever sees me with a watering can or a glass of water, he’s trying to get to it! But most of the time, it’s the tub. Crazy cats! Love em.

     
  6. Cissy

    December 8, 2010 at 9:40 pm

    Cats rule, dogs drool.
    Happy B-Day to Kitty.
    Waterers with a pump are available. I considered one for my Bengal, Maybe, who had the same habit. I’ll look into it.
    Hope all is well.

     
  7. Cissy

    December 8, 2010 at 9:44 pm

    Hi, love your Kitty. Hope she had a mouseful B-Day.

     

Leave a Reply

 
