RSS

Skip Christmas–I want Spring

29 Nov

The winter months are my least favorite as I feel trapped both emotionally and physically. Fortunately the weather has been warm enough to play and I am able to ride my horse almost daily. The winters are mild were I live but some years, such as 2009, it was terribly cold with lots of snow. And on Christmas. Who would have thought it would snow on Christmas?

Sitting at the kitchen table yesterday afternoon reading Bon Apetit, I realized it was the Spring edition with all the meal planning for Easter. What a fabulous time of the year. All of the recipes using fresh picked vegetables right from the garden. I have decided to plant ramps. Leeks are one of my favorites, so I shall give this wild leeks a try in the spring.

It motivated me to draw out plans for the garden and begin preparations now so that everything is in place come February when we start planting. It seems early but in North Central TX, you can plant as early as late February. I tend to plant the first week in March.

Thanksgiving just tired me so and it’s all about the baby for Christmas. I don’t care to celebrate in the mainstream way of shopping till one drops and looking for bargains. It’s about the birth of Jesus and that is the only thing I shall celebrate.

Plus I miss the wild Spring weather of wild thunderstorms and dramatic sky paint.

 
7 Comments

Posted by on November 29, 2010 in home, Photography, Texas, weather

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

7 responses to “Skip Christmas–I want Spring

  1. Bobby

    November 30, 2010 at 9:47 am

    Christmas has become too commercial. I would prefer Christmas to be just like Thanksgiving with a nod to Jesus for good measure.

     
  2. Pastor Larry

    November 30, 2010 at 12:49 pm

    Spring will come again friend 🙂

     
  3. elegies

    November 30, 2010 at 5:51 pm

    Christmas is another reason why I take myself off to somewhere secluded.

     
  4. Les

    November 30, 2010 at 9:17 pm

    I agree with you on winter. Thankfully there are a few distracting holidays to get us through the first part, but after that I am ready to live somewhere closer to the equator.

     
  5. wildwesty

    November 30, 2010 at 10:56 pm

    Winter has it’s nice side, too, but yes, I’ll take spring any time!

    Your new layout threw me off, lol!

     
  6. Preston

    December 2, 2010 at 2:42 pm

    I’m always apprehensive of winter and the cold weather, but after it comes I get use to it.

     
  7. LD

    December 20, 2010 at 3:33 pm

    I have decided to skip Christmas this year. Recently divorced, no decorations and a complete lack of the holiday “cheer”, so I am going to do what I read so many wish they could do. I am going out of the country ALONE to sit on a beach, have a drink, enjoy the warm sunshine and say thanks for the fact that I live in a country where I am free to do just want I am doing.

    God Bless and Happy Holidays, may the New Year bring new beginnings.

     

Leave a Reply

 
