RSS

Futuro, Rockwall, Texas

27 Nov

The windows have been smashed out and it is weathered over the years. I have no information about the creator of this interesting UFO looking Futuro house that sits along the road between Royce and Rockwall.

If you google Rockwall, Texas, flying saucer, you will be led to several thousand websites advertising the Flying Saucer Draught Emporium. This is not the place, although it sure would be an eye catcher to have situated as part of the landscape.

I did a little search on the web and found several suggestions as to it’s story. One says it was built to be used for a hamburger joint and a game room. It looks awefully small to me to put many people in there for games and burgers. Apparently this space house sits on the the land that owned by a Spanish family. Another website says that there are about 90 something Futuro homes left. Have you seen one? Where? Tell me.

If you have facts about this Futuro home, please leave me a comment or a message.

As usual, this shot was taken while driving along the highway at about 60 mph. It is found on the 275 on the east side of Rockwall.

 
25 Comments

Posted by on November 27, 2010 in Photography, small towns, Texas

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

25 responses to “Futuro, Rockwall, Texas

  1. MrScribbler

    November 27, 2010 at 9:16 am

    Some information on Futuro houses can be found here: http://www.berting.nl/futuro/

    Not many were built, and few have survived. Hope someone starts to care for this one before it’s too late….

     
  2. lowandslow1

    November 27, 2010 at 9:21 am

    Looks like it might have been designed by the same folks who designed the little igloo looking things seen on I35 going towards Waco. I’m sure you’ve seen them, and probably even posted about them here… I can’t remember.

    S

     
  3. wildstorm

    November 27, 2010 at 9:32 am

    Scott, I’ve got a picture of that little igloo looking thing in Ennis. There’s a post somewhere in this blog.

     
  4. wildstorm

    November 27, 2010 at 9:32 am

    Scrib, thanks for that link. Much appreciated!

     
  5. burstmode

    November 27, 2010 at 12:37 pm

    I could live there…

     
  6. Doug

    November 27, 2010 at 2:14 pm

    A few sheets of Plexiglas, some paint and a few amenities and it could be an alright place to watch the world go by.

     
  7. Joan

    November 27, 2010 at 6:07 pm

    What a neat structure. I agree with Scrib and hope someone takes it in hand before it is too late.

     
  8. sfmurphy1971

    November 27, 2010 at 6:41 pm

    I know of a place in Missouri like that house. It is on I-29 just north of Mound City, Missouri.

    Ros

     
  9. wildstorm

    November 27, 2010 at 8:40 pm

    Ros, I’ve read of some others across the U.S. I’ll have to find that one in MO when I travel to IL next year.

     
  10. Pastor Larry

    November 28, 2010 at 10:01 am

    So cool. I remember a craze of these kind of homes. They were interesting but not pratical.

     
  11. wildstorm

    November 28, 2010 at 10:16 am

    Not practical at all. I think it would be a great play place for my son though–his special space camp. I wonder if they would sell it to me. I’ve got room for it in the pasture.

     
  12. Anna

    November 29, 2010 at 9:02 am

    How neat! I haven’t seen a Futuro home. That would be something else for Kansas. LOL Hey Dorothy of Wizard of Oz! I’d love to have one of these to sit on my property (if there were enough space) for yard art. 🙂

     
  13. Bobby

    November 29, 2010 at 11:40 am

    We have the same shell that sells UFO stuff on Hatteras Island NC.

    Cheers,
    Bobby

     
  14. gabriela

    March 9, 2011 at 12:39 am

    the first time i saw this house was maybe five years ago as we were passing by. we had to stop and look inside. it actualy had a small fridge and a desk inside. the windows were still in tack and it had carpet it was in better condition as it is now. if you look inside now it has been damaged and so much writing inside. the only thing since then is that a paved driveway has been added to park get out and look. it would have been a nice attraction for a small town but no one has bothered to preserve it and it seems as if the owners no longer exist. i still wonder how it got there and who lived in it.

     
  15. wildstorm

    March 9, 2011 at 11:31 pm

    Bobby, I’d love to see a photo of your UFO house.

     
  16. wildstorm

    March 9, 2011 at 11:32 pm

    Gabriela, thank you for your comment. With all the weeds growing, I did not see any kind of parking area but then, I shot this while driving! It is quite interesting and I still want to have it for my boy’s club house!

     
  17. Barbara Dybala

    March 31, 2011 at 7:02 pm

    Hi, Im Barbara Dybala a mosaic artist. I’m building a studio on S. Smith Road off 550 and 205 in Rockwall county. The exterior of two sides will be mosaic. I’ve been playing around with some fun sketches of aliens and found your photo of the futuro home. Can you give me better directions to its location? Also, have you found another “foreign” objects around the area. I would like to include some odd items that represent the area. Thanks

     
  18. wildstorm

    April 5, 2011 at 7:39 am

    Hi Barbara. This futuro home is found along the 276 on the south side of the road. It is on the eastern edge of of Rockwall on that highway but I could not tell you exactly what the cross streets are. Thanks for your comment.

     
  19. thedailyclick

    September 18, 2011 at 5:32 pm

    Hi! I found my way over here from burstmode’s blog. Seems that we’re neighbors (I live in the Dallas area, too… just north of Dallas). I’ll have to go look for that UFO looking thing one day.
    I’m really enjoying looking through your blog.

     
  20. Chuck Higbee

    September 24, 2012 at 8:32 am

    Passed by this UFO a few times. Someone told me it was once used as a hotdog stand.

     
  21. Jay R.

    October 1, 2012 at 1:56 pm

    I don’t believe that this is a Futuro house (although it certainly looks similar), since I have seen it there since 1965, three years before Futuro started. Also, It’s metallic, and Futuro is fiberglass or plastic.

    I suspect that it was originally a late 50s / early 60s custom-built space-age themed business.

     
  22. wildstorm

    December 15, 2012 at 8:53 pm

    Thanks Jay R. Appreciate your comment. I don’t know anything really of this structure except what I found online.

     
  23. Capt Dave

    March 31, 2013 at 12:12 pm

    We have a futuro house on Hatteras Island, NC. It was built there back when they were new structures and used as a beach house. Later it was sold and moved to become home to several different things to include a hot dog and ice cream stand, but is now damaged and abandoned much like the TX one. Did not know of this one in TX till now. I would like to get one and fix it up to use as vacation rental place. Nothing else like them.

     
  24. Simon

    November 29, 2013 at 6:01 pm

    If you are interested in more on the Futuro House check out http://www.thefuturohouse.com

     
  25. Ed

    April 19, 2014 at 1:21 pm

    I believe I’ve seen it along SH 276 near the Blackland community — a few miles east of Rockwall.

     

Leave a Reply

 
