RSS

Lucky

21 Nov

How often do we hear the phrase, “I got lucky” or “Good luck to you”? There are plenty more. I’m part Irish and some consider me lucky because of that “luck of the Irish”. Thankfully I do not lean on luck, but on faith and God’s grace.

“That’s a lucky cat”, my friend said when she saw this photo. Lucky in that the cat did not get stomped on by that thousand pound animal following closely curious and hoping that the cat might lead her to a full bucket of feed. The cat cared nothing about her, ignored her and led the way back to the gate, but first to the sandy spot under the tree where she rolled, shook off the dirt and darted under the gate onto the grass. She also stated how lucky I was to get up behind that horse to shoot this photo. I was yards away.

That cat has no fear of horses and often joins us outside when grooming or feeding them. She loves to be in the middle of it all. The mare is such a sweet animal; is gentle, and very easy to work with.

Lucky.

That is the horse’s name. She has her own story.

 
10 Comments

Posted by on November 21, 2010 in home, My horses, Photography

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

10 responses to “Lucky

  1. Fijufic

    November 22, 2010 at 12:39 pm

    Hmmm…

    Faith is a wonderful thing to have. I’m always searching.

    I am grateful however…

    Have I been lucky? Yes. I will add that I usually make my own luck.
    Happy Thanksgiving buddy!

    Love,
    Bobby

     
  2. Virginia Little

    November 22, 2010 at 3:47 pm

    Rodeo got thumped in the head by my mare. I was behind my gelding and just heard the yelp and saw the front hoof strike. All I said was, “is she bleeding?” Dog now keeps a safe distance.
    She was lucky alright.

    Going to Ireland in February for the Russell Bros. music fest on the west coast near the Cliffs of Moher in Doolin? Wanna come along???

     
  3. wildstorm

    November 23, 2010 at 2:31 am

    Mickey, our old dog, got stomped on in the round pen when he decided to join in the lunging exercises with Carter. Carter charged him and well, he got nailed good. Thank goodness he didn’t break anything.
    Animals….and I thought being human was hard enough.

    Ireland…..I would LOVE to go!!! You must share your experience there. Have you been to Ireland?

     
  4. Lori

    November 23, 2010 at 9:34 am

    I love the shot- Beautiful. We had a cat named Lucky- She showed up at mom and dad’s years ago- pregnant and they said she was Lucky they kept her. LOL She was part of the family for many many years.

     
  5. Krista

    November 23, 2010 at 4:00 pm

    I like that. πŸ™‚ I love it when animals surprise us by getting along. We had a dog when I was little and she had puppies around the same time we got a new kitten. She let the kitten nuzzle right in there and nurse with her pups. It was so cute. πŸ™‚

     
  6. lowandslow1

    November 23, 2010 at 4:42 pm

    What’s that old saying?….”The harder I work the luckier I get.” Haha

    Yep, I’ll take faith and grace of God every time, too. Enjoyed the photo and the story. πŸ™‚

    S

     
  7. Anna

    November 24, 2010 at 9:29 am

    That is a nifty lucky capture of cat and horse. I like!

    Have a happy and safe Thanksgiving! πŸ™‚

     
  8. Sunny

    November 24, 2010 at 2:11 pm

    Cute shot of the cat and the horse. πŸ™‚ Happy Thanksgiving to you and your family, Anita. πŸ™‚
    I’m also Irish…and born on ” 7-11″ I do consider myself very lucky, onsidering all the serious set-backs this year……and also I’m extremely blessed !

     
  9. Sunny

    November 24, 2010 at 2:12 pm

    sorry for typo ~ supposed to say: * considering* up there in my comment.

     
  10. Anita Carville

    November 28, 2010 at 2:45 am

    I love this whole cat and horse thing. The mingling of species is truly a beautiful thing. I love your blog, too. Blessings.

     

Leave a Reply

 
