RSS

Along The Way

16 Nov

The other day, I took a drive with my baby boy to play with the horses. We take this drive sometimes, the unpaved road. It’s a bit bumpier but far prettier. Late day, the mini horses are grazing at the back of the pasture so we can see them up close on this road. My boy just loves them.

On the other side of the road are more ranches. The sun sinks further to the south, the sky is bluer. I never realized the beauty until today when I stopped the pick-up on the side next to a cattle guard and lost myself in the moment. The baby sat quietly for I think he too realized the beauty of this place.

A few cows walked past along the barbed wire fence; a young calf looking our way as he trotted ahead. I took a sip of sweet tea from my blue cup, put the truck into gear and drove into the evening.

 
10 Comments

Posted by on November 16, 2010 in Photography, Texas

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

10 responses to “Along The Way

  1. Teraisa J. Rogers

    November 17, 2010 at 2:55 am

    I want to be where you are with who you are with…

     
  2. Michaella

    November 17, 2010 at 7:38 am

    The girls and I do the same thing fairly often. Texas backroads are the best. They are very peaceful. When we see cows near the road we always stop and give them some moooooos. The cows are facinated by us as they continue to munch on grass. The girls love it. Oh and we do this to horses too but neighs instead of moos. Oh how I want a farm.

     
  3. Bobby

    November 17, 2010 at 10:20 am

    This is very pretty. I have a long dirt road leading to my house in the mountains. You need 4wd to ascend the last leg of the trip…

    I love the country as well although I’m no rancher.

    I love these shots.

    Love,
    Bobby

     
  4. tcbntx

    November 17, 2010 at 6:14 pm

    that is a beautiful road. Reminds me of the road to my grandmothers log cabin back when I was just a wee lad. Located near Bowie. what is sweat tea?

     
  5. wildstorm

    November 17, 2010 at 7:25 pm

    OOPs. Sweeeeet tea. I’ll change it. I should really pay more attention to my writing.

     
  6. Anna

    November 18, 2010 at 7:52 am

    Beautiful image of a country road canopied by trees. Love these kind of roads.

     
  7. swanpetal

    November 18, 2010 at 12:28 pm

    This is a beautiful photo. I love how the tress arch over the roadway.

     
  8. swanpetal

    November 18, 2010 at 12:29 pm

    *trees

    🙂

     
  9. Jack Matthews

    November 18, 2010 at 9:43 pm

    I think this a most marvelous post. What adds to the serene tableau is your baby boy feeling and resting, the easy motion of beautiful things about. You wrote this as beautifully as the time must have been. It will not happen, but every person in the world needs moments like this.

     
  10. Pastor Larry

    November 19, 2010 at 8:33 am

    I love this picture WOW!!!

     

Leave a Reply

 
