RSS

Refreshed and Renewed

07 Nov

Early this Sunday morning I stumbled across a blog that led me to another blog prompting me to reflect on how many blogs I read each morning. I’ve got my list of favorites but sometimes I discover another blogger on their page that I want to read leading me on a grand blog tour.

”The
Over time more blogs get added to the blogroll. This morning I began to organize some blogrolls on this machine on my desk; for some bloggers are no longer accessible, are blocked, or they’ve changed their style in a manner not favorable to this reader.

Delete.

My favorites list is four miles long. Do you save stuff just so you can return to it one time and then you will delete it? I’ve got a temporary folder but it’s been temporary for 3 years with about a hundred sites I have not returned to.

Delete.

Just as Susannah wrote about in her post on this very subject of Digital Detox, there are some blogs that really upset me. Furthermore, there are blog sites home to such blogs that are filled with hatred and meanness. Perhaps I will put a block on that entire site.

Delete.

Email. Goodness. It’s always been a priority to keep the contents low on that account and with wonderful filters can avoid most spam. But there are those FWD’s, and all the RN recruiters in the world trying to find me a job 3000 miles away when my Monster and Career Builder accounts specifically state “not willing to relocate”. Email addresses and emails no longer needed:

Delete.

Ah, that is a good start and feels better already. Why don’t you join me. Be sure to give credit to Susan Conway. It’s her badge!

Edit: To my fellow bloggers that I have followed: When referring to removing negative blogs from my reading, that does not include the public list on this page. I often find myself returning in hopes to find something different, or I discover new blogs that I really do not care to return to in the first place. I’ve axed no one from my list!

 
10 Comments

Posted by on November 7, 2010 in home, Photography

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

10 responses to “Refreshed and Renewed

  1. Virginia Little

    November 7, 2010 at 12:21 pm

    Sure hope I’m not axed, Windstorm. Always enjoy y0ur blog and only read 3, so feel honored! I don’t write often but try to make it reader friendly and upbeat. Afterall, stories about noodles salads and picnics on the beach or rides into the sunset are preferrable to wah, wah, wah.
    The world sets about sometimes to tear us down. Blogs should help us look up and out…like mountains.

    Keep writing, and minimalizing!

    Cheers.
    Ginny

     
  2. wildstorm

    November 7, 2010 at 3:46 pm

    Ginny, you are not axed, no way!! I look forward to your updates, especially horse stories. Thanks so much for reading me.

     
  3. Jack Matthews

    November 8, 2010 at 6:54 am

    I do the same thing from time to time — delete. On e-mail at work, there’s a lotta of putzes that forward junk. I can’t block them because they are at work, but I’m now at the point that I don’t want to suffer their e-mails. They can always put hard copy in my mailbox. Right? Thanks for letting me stay put on your sidebar. I don’t see an end to the blog theme I am composing.

     
  4. Bobby

    November 8, 2010 at 9:25 am

    Sometimes it is a a good feeling to do a little housecleaning. I haven’t had to delete too many journals due to writing style changes. Most folks are pretty steady although I suspect a few give up now and again.

    I am who I am and write about all sorts of stuff that comes to mind at the time. My journal has no real theme other than love of life, family and friends…

    Perhaps this is why you and I are friends.

    I witnessed a baby cow being born on Saturday afternoon. That was totally out of the blue…it was by the fence on a farm near our mountain house.

    WOW!!!

    Love,
    Bobby

    Love,Bobb

     
  5. Angela Giles Klocke

    November 9, 2010 at 4:59 pm

    I’m still there. Whew. Thanks! 😀

     
  6. bard

    November 9, 2010 at 10:14 pm

    “Do you save stuff just so you can return to it one time and then you will delete it?”

    All the time! And then they sit there, and sit there, and sit there…

    Eventually I get around to cleaning it all up, and it looks like I’m due to do so again. Thanks for the reminder!

     
  7. Jayne

    November 11, 2010 at 7:41 am

    Glad to hear you’re joining in with the big clean-up/detox – it’s a good feeling isn’t it and as someone said at my site these things always seem more fun when others are joining in.

    Your photo is gorgeous – those fallen leaves look like shards of gold.

     
  8. Wizardress

    November 11, 2010 at 1:21 pm

    I need to follow suit- I don’t have a lot of time to read blogs myself, so when I do I try to make sure it’s those who make me smile, encourage or are generally positive. I know we all have ‘off’ days- but to perpetuate hate or negativity is something I prefer not to ingest myself. There’s enough of that everywhere else in the world without consciously reading it.

    *hugs*

     
  9. Doug

    November 14, 2010 at 9:44 pm

    Love that water shot.

     
  10. The Lazy Photographer

    November 17, 2010 at 7:34 pm

    I really like the photo. I’ve yet to do a waterfalls shot with a slow shutter. Yeah, I do a bit of digital housecleaning every now and again. Good for the soul.

     

Leave a Reply

 
