RSS

Power in Graffiti

06 Nov

A folder in my photo collection consists of photos taken across the states of art on the outside walls of vacant buildings, train cars, bridges, to name a few. You may not call it art. There are laws prohibiting such markings. Without approval, it’s considered defacement, vandalism. But it exists and it will never go away.

The other day while driving along the 377, I looked over at the train moving along side of me and discovered this car. I shot this picture while driving. And for the remainder of my trip, I thought about the power of the words and images and the inspiration of the artist/tagger and of the message to those that see it.

The message in this image on the side of that rail car: Hope is never lost. I imagined the one that wrote it there. It’s more than the words is the position of the word lost.

I want my own rail car to write on/paint; to leave powerful messages, a significant social image–those things not shared on my blog. Would Union Pacific respond to my written request?

 
5 Comments

Posted by on November 6, 2010 in Photography

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

5 responses to “Power in Graffiti

  1. Sarah

    November 6, 2010 at 12:31 pm

    The art of graffiti. I wonder that graffiti is unlawful that lends it such power. This is a powerful one.

    Excellent post.

     
  2. Jack Matthews

    November 8, 2010 at 6:46 am

    Unusual graffiti. Message is quite clear. I imagine the person had to quickly paint, “Lost,” since the train was leaving or they were discovered. Yet, who can say? Thank you for taking the time to photograph the railroad car.

     
  3. BethanyC

    November 8, 2010 at 10:08 pm

    Interesting, I took some train graffiti photos today at lunch. My “new” library location is immediately next to some very busy train tracks. For the last several months I’ve been working on a folder of train art. Some of it truly is amazing and I’ve found a few powerful words myself.

     
  4. Wizardress

    November 11, 2010 at 1:22 pm

    That’s a message we can ALL believe in!

     
  5. kate

    November 13, 2010 at 4:51 pm

    Powerful, I agree!

     

Leave a Reply

 
