RSS

Memory Lane

01 Nov

Perhaps it is the season, the shorter days, a deeper blue sky, but in these past few days, my mind has been flooded with how things were. Perhaps it is the final closure to the Summer of 2010. While sitting at the intersection downtown, I looked around at the quaintness of it all and recalled the festival we just celebrated weeks ago and remember the many we attended and participated in several years ago.

I turned and drove into our church driveway. Not much has changed there at all, but what has happened inside our church certainly has. We are in revival right now. And where you have humans, you have change. The song worship has completely changed, the way our pastor talks about the Missionaries has changed. And people have aged. The kids I knew when I moved here were all in highschool. Many of them are now getting married and starting families. When I lived in California, things changed so often for me, I rarely experience these changes.

Walking across the pasture yesterday from the pond, I realized how much bigger the trees are and how much clearing we needed to do. Looking at some photos this morning, I realize how much I prefer the wide open spaces in the fields. While the horses grazed, I looked back toward the pond and recalled the days when Bugs was with us and watching that old horse race my 4 year old gelding across the pasture while I rode the mare.

Smiling while writing this, I realize the beauty that God has surrounded me with. I am so grateful.

 
7 Comments

Posted by on November 1, 2010 in home, Photography, Texas

 

Tags: , , , ,

7 responses to “Memory Lane

  1. Larry

    November 1, 2010 at 8:05 am

    Awesome

     
  2. Jacqueline

    November 1, 2010 at 8:15 am

    What a beautiful, reflective post. How fortunate you are to be surrounded by wide open spaces …

     
  3. Bobby

    November 1, 2010 at 9:59 am

    You know this change will never cease.

    I notice the changes within the changes if that makes sense.

    Enjoy what you have.

    Love,
    Bobby

     
  4. wildwesty

    November 1, 2010 at 12:12 pm

    that’s a lovely photo…. as all your photos are *wink*

     
  5. Petra Christensen

    November 2, 2010 at 3:33 pm

    Loved this post! It has the air of fall written all over it…

    Petra Christensen
    Parelli 2Star Junior Instructor
    Parelli Central

     
  6. Les

    November 3, 2010 at 6:10 am

    Sometimes when you are in the thick of things, it is hard to see the changes. I am glad you were able to take a step back and take notice.

     
  7. burstmode

    November 5, 2010 at 12:51 pm

    ahhh…I love this moody shot.

     

Leave a Reply

 
