RSS

October

02 Oct

 

If it all could just stay a while!  I like this time of year: the cool wind, foliage changes, the song of the mockingbird.  Pumpkin patches are full, people shuffle around the farmer’s markets, and the seaon’s colors are bright. 

Come November 1, I am completely exhausted by the holidays that have not even come to pass.   I just love Thanksgiving and Christmas but by the time those days arrive I have lost all my desire to celebrate them.  It almost becomes an obligation. 

With my faith, however, I will celebrate Christmas in its truest meaning and it is very much loved by our family.  We enjoy our Thanksgiving weekend and spend the week before planning our meal and family time.  What I dislike so much about the holidays is that the marketing, the advertising is so overstimulating.  It’s as if you are being force-fed.  Even in July, I popped into Hobby Lobby to buy some tatting supplies and Christmas trees were already being situated in the very large section of the store.  Christmas and Thanksgiving took up it appeared 1/4 of the north part of the store. I couldn’t look.  I refused to walk through it all. 

And then there is the radio.  Consistent advertisements pertaining to shopping and spending your hard earned cash on everything in the book.  I try to avoid radio.  And the television just doesn’t get turned on past Halloween.  Well, except to watch a football game. 

But I do enjoy October.  I am going shopping Monday after work at Joann’s Fabrics and buy what I need to make a cloake and a little costume for my baby boy.  It’s time to get a bale of hay out front with a few pumkins, straw, and a scarecrow.  A trip to the nursey is necessary today to get some crysanthemums.  

Ya’ll have a fabulous day now!

 
6 Comments

Posted by on October 2, 2010 in Cemeteries, home, Photography, TtV

 

Tags: , , , , ,

6 responses to “October

  1. maggsworld

    October 2, 2010 at 5:00 pm

    Have a splendiferous time too. Maggs

     
  2. Doug

    October 2, 2010 at 7:16 pm

    I’m not a fall guy but I like the colors 🙂

     
  3. burstmode

    October 3, 2010 at 12:30 pm

    pffft…you cannot dislike Christmas when you have little ones.
    But, these are some of the nicest days to live in Texas…it is incredible down here.

     
  4. wildstorm

    October 3, 2010 at 8:23 pm

    Christmas will be far more enjoyable with J.

     
  5. KIT

    October 3, 2010 at 8:45 pm

    I love October. It brings some of the best weather of the year on the coast and in San Francisco.

     
  6. Stacie

    October 3, 2010 at 10:04 pm

    I love October too, and I am so jealous, they do not have a Hobby Lobby in Washington! Someday I may have littleones to make costumes for, this is such a fun time of year!

    I like your pic too.

     

Leave a Reply

 
