RSS

It’s Been A Long Time

29 Sep

It’s been such a long time, I think I should be goin’, yeah
And time doesn’t wait for me, it keeps on rollin’
Sail on, on a distant highway
I’ve got to keep on chasin’ a dream, I’ve gotta be on my way
Wish there was something I could say

The photo has been posted here before.  Last night I drove home from work around midnight and watched this moon cast its dream across the vast pastures where horses huddle together under the night sky. 

It seems that the right song was on at the right time.    Boston–one of my favorite bands.

I was a latecomer to the compact disc.  I bought my very first one in 1992 in the middle of nursing school and listened to it from beginning to end while while writing a paper for an English Lit class.   That CD:  Creedence Clearwater Revival.  It sat in it’s package for over a month and then it was finally opened and gently placed in the player.  I remember clearly that night while writing how the breeze blew in through the window rattling the verticle blinds.  I never paid attention as clearly as I did that night to the words of their songs. 

Shortly after that, I bought a few more CD’s:  Boston, Journey, Bad Company.  Being in college, one does not have alot of money to spend on music.   But my collection grew from about ten to about 210 within a few years.  Much of my collection came from my sister.  And it is not all classic rock.

Throw in a little Sting. 

The Best of Kitaro.

During that time, I became a huge fan of KTWV.  The Wave was a new age station 94.7 in Los Angeles.  And it was in the 90’s that WaveAid was born.  Don’t confuse this with the concert of 2005 for the flood relief.  This was a collection of recordings by various artists of a period of a few years for a similar purpose.  I think there were 9 CD’s total.  I have six of them.  Yanni was big back then and I just loved his music.  David Benoit, David Lanz, Michael Jones and more.  So many more.   This early morning I listen to Carlos Nakai.

And then there is Country.  Born country, always country.  Alabama, Robert Earl Keen, Montgomery Gentry, and more.

There are soundtracks, New Age, Jazz, Blues, Gospel, Classic Rock, Metal, Alternative, and Classical in this collection in the rack by my desk.  I always believed you could tell something about a person by their music collection.  Usually I can predict after meeting someone what kinds of music they have in their home and the reverse:  what the personality is of a person based on their music collection.  Sometimes I am wrong, but most of the time I am right. 

It’s not easy these days since we’ve transitioned to ipods, ipads, iphones, i-this and i-that.  I don’t buy CD’s as much anymore when I can download that one song I like and not have to purchase the whole CD. 

Is the CD of today becoming the Eight Track of the 70’s?

What’s your music?

 
9 Comments

Posted by on September 29, 2010 in Black and White, home, Photography

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

9 responses to “It’s Been A Long Time

  1. Bobby

    September 29, 2010 at 10:55 am

    My music? Ranges from all over the planet but if you held me down I would tell you it is alt rock from the 80’s and 90’s.

     
  2. Sunny

    September 29, 2010 at 12:21 pm

    I still like Journey, CCR and Yanni. I like so much music as you can tell if you see my SingSnap page (s) of recordings, lol !

    Most are ones I like or are within my voice pitch range, but a few are of Challenges, recordings I did without even knowing the song before, haha.

    I have’nt sang since the 1st of this month…too much going on…but love music.

    Thankyou so much for prayers, Anita 🙂 Much appreciated.

     
  3. Wizardress

    September 29, 2010 at 2:15 pm

    I’m glad you reposted this picture- I’ve never seen it and I love it!!

    I knew I liked you- You have great taste in music. I like very much the same.

    I also love Aerosmith- 80’s hair bands (Poison, Whitesnake, Winger, Slaughter), plus Led Zepplin. I’m not a fan of country and rap, but as far as the rest, everything goes- including Jazz and Classical. Moonlight Sonata by Beethoven is my favorite.

    *hugs*

     
  4. Michaella

    September 29, 2010 at 3:40 pm

    Hmmmm…. So… What kind of music do you think I have in my house? lol

     
  5. Denise

    September 30, 2010 at 1:11 am

    I define my life according to the music that was popular at the time. Many times a song will simply transport my mind back. Yes the new technology is having an affect on this, I don’t buy CDs anymore.
    I feel priveleged to have heard the music of my Parents. Can the term ‘variegated’ be applied to a human? This is my taste in music through my life. Rock ,New Age, Alternative, Classical (not in any particular order).

     
  6. Sunny

    September 30, 2010 at 5:43 am

    I was just listening to classical music last night, some light and soothing classical to help ease the emotional and physical stress/pain.

     
  7. doanli

    September 30, 2010 at 8:35 am

    I’ve been really loving Jazz lately. So funny because I grew up not too far from New Orleans. Maybe it’s because I miss living on the Gulf Coast; I miss the culture. It reminds me of home.

    But I do think our (music, hearing?) tastes change as we get older–I really love listening to Frank Sinatra, Johnny Cash, Tony Bennett—music I wouldn’t be caught dead listening to when I was in my teens, lol.

     
  8. doanli

    September 30, 2010 at 8:36 am

    But I’ll always love Billy Joel’s music. Always warms my heart. (“Piano Man”, “Leave a Tender Moment Alone”, “Uptown Girl”, etc.)

     
  9. Doug

    October 2, 2010 at 7:15 pm

    Hi, Anita.

    I like Boston, love CCR (but only the first 5 LPs, all on vinyl) and Bad Company. In fact I prefer 70s music, but there is some good 80s and up out there. I grew up with country music, but local programming and the Nashville sound kinda wrecked it for me. I like the older country, and any of the newer artists that embrace that sound, like Dwight Yokum, Alan Jackson etc. I just don’t listen to it in favor of rock.

    I have way more music in mp3s than I do on CD, and am glad my new car can take a feed from my iPod. I drove to Boston (430 mi from home) and back without ever listening to the radio 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
