RSS

Forward

26 Sep

While traveling to Lufkin last week, I snapped this shot driving down the highway imagining the storm that would consume the evening if I made it in time. Look at those clouds: drawing you in, calling you. Is it illegal to take pictures while driving? Is it anything like texting and talking on a cell phone? I ‘m not looking through the viewfinder, just holding up the camera on the steering wheel. Maybe I should not write about this sort of activity on my public blog.

I just cannot miss out on such beauty even if there are annoying telephone lines crossing the road.

When this was processed, I almost deleted. The image just drew me in. For this week, a very busy week, end of the month, multiple deadlines, it is appropriate. Looking forward. Drawn to the finish. Perhaps a storm or two will pass.

“The greater the obstacle, the more glory in overcoming it.”
Moliere –

 
21 Comments

Posted by on September 26, 2010 in Photography, Texas, weather

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

21 responses to “Forward

  1. lauracee

    September 26, 2010 at 10:02 pm

    I love your blog. I have to come back when I have time to really dig in but photo is what caught my eye, drew me in, love it!

     
  2. Doug

    September 26, 2010 at 10:02 pm

    I shoot while driving from time to time. No doubt it’s highly illegal here, but when you have a great shot in front of you and there’s nowhere to stop, you do what you gotta do. That’s beautiful.

    Good luck with the deadlines 🙂

     
  3. wildstorm

    September 26, 2010 at 10:15 pm

    No doubt, Doug. Many in my gallery were taken while driving.

     
  4. wildstorm

    September 26, 2010 at 10:15 pm

    Drive-by shooting is what they call it.

     
  5. dowhatyoulove

    September 26, 2010 at 11:39 pm

    Just beautiful. I love the feeling of it, so dramatic and filled with such passion. I think the powerlines add something to the photo, they are part of the whole feeling.

     
  6. kate

    September 26, 2010 at 11:50 pm

    Stunning photo!

     
  7. Z

    September 27, 2010 at 4:19 am

    enigmatic colors:) amen.

     
  8. burstmode

    September 27, 2010 at 6:29 am

    I like the white line just above the horizon. I shoot driving, too.
    Doug…wish I could comment on your photos but, well, you know…

     
  9. Journey Photographic

    September 27, 2010 at 6:47 am

    I like the ominous feeling you’ve caught in this shot.

     
  10. wildstorm

    September 27, 2010 at 7:10 am

    Burst, go to his blogspot page to comment.

     
  11. doanli

    September 27, 2010 at 8:22 am

    I love the colors (the dark green)!!!

     
  12. Jacqueline

    September 27, 2010 at 8:26 am

    WOW! I’m completely drawn in by this image. And I can relate so well to your description of the goings-on in your busy, daily life at the moment. Passing storms … passing storms …

     
  13. Bobby

    September 27, 2010 at 1:41 pm

    If you see the shot then take it. You never know when it will return….

    Lovely. I have tons of driving shots…Some are great and others are in the recycle bin…

     
  14. chasity

    September 27, 2010 at 1:44 pm

    ah…those clouds do call to me.
    i think that i could be a stormchaser….
    love a good storm!

    the cave from my post was Marvel Cave
    in Branson Missouri…
    the prettiest cave i’ve ever seen.

    have a great day~
    chasity

     
  15. wildstorm

    September 27, 2010 at 3:39 pm

    Chasity, thanks for sharing that cave info. We love caves and I think that it might just be put on my list of things to see.

     
  16. Pastor Larry

    September 27, 2010 at 4:28 pm

    Excellent picture

     
  17. Anna

    September 27, 2010 at 5:44 pm

    Beautiful. I love the colors and broodiness.

     
  18. wildstorm

    September 27, 2010 at 8:02 pm

    Thank you everyone. This photo was almost deleted. Your comments mean alot!

     
  19. wildwesty

    September 28, 2010 at 1:45 pm

    when you take such a picture, with the camera sitting on top of the steering wheel, you still have both hands on the wheel so…. legal! lol

    Yes, I’ve taken such pictures, too, they are just too hard to resist! Nothing beats nature!!

     
  20. iheartfilm

    September 28, 2010 at 9:09 pm

    Clouds can really make a photo.

     
  21. Sunny

    September 29, 2010 at 12:25 pm

    That’s a most beautiful and appropriate photo, and this photo op, you could just not pass up! I’m sure you looked to see if all was safe around you before you took it, and you were “multi-tasking” each focus.

     

Leave a Reply

 
