RSS

Redland, Texas

23 Sep

On the way to Nacagdoches this drive-in theater passed me by. Quickly I changed lanes, made a U-turn, pulled the car along the shoulder and took this shot. I just love drive-in theaters and want so much to go to one.

My first date was at the drive-in on corner of Mission Boulevard and Ramona in Montclair CA. The drive-in is still in business and I just pulled it up on google maps to see. What memories. When in high school, we went to see movies there frequently. DWS took me there for our first date and it was Friday the 13th #7 or something like that. You loose count after #3. We also went to the drive-in grounds on Saturdays for swap meet. Funny thing, I found DWS’s bowling ball for sale there and bought it. Men. But it’s the spirit of the movies that made it all worthwhile.

There are several drive-in photos in this blog and perhaps it would be appropriate if I listed them but I don’t even remember where they are. Perhaps I shall categorize for my readers convenience. In time.

A bit about Redland:
Redland was settled before the Civil War and was named for the soil color of the ridge that forms the center of the community.

According to information gathered here and there, this theater obviously is closed. It appears to be nothing but a junk yard. As you can see, the screen is still standing as are what is left of the signs and ticket booth. I’m not alone when I say this, but when I pass by closed drive-in movie theaters, I watch the ghosts play through my lens and long for that screen’s time of the lights and sounds, friends and families sitting in their cars, gathering inside the concession stand, the smell of popcorn, and the giggling of teens.

Please remember to replace the speaker on the post before you leave the theater.

 
15 Comments

Posted by on September 23, 2010 in Photography, small towns, Texas

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

15 responses to “Redland, Texas

  1. photographyfree4all

    September 23, 2010 at 5:46 pm

    Wonderful shot of this historical treasure! I’m old enough to remember the times that one could experience at the drive in! I also love your header shot! Great job.

     
  2. Michaella

    September 23, 2010 at 7:20 pm

    Brazos Drive-in in Granbury, thebrazos.com and galaxydriveintheatre.com located in a town called Garrett, just north of Ennis. I too went to drive-ins as a child. The one in Sherman and Bonham. Also when I lived in California we went to the one in Ceres. Wes has never been to one. I am trying to get him to go to the Brazos. Maybe one day!

     
  3. wildstorm

    September 23, 2010 at 7:37 pm

    Michaella, I think we should all plan and evening and go. Wes has missed out. They are so much fun.

     
  4. wildstorm

    September 23, 2010 at 7:38 pm

    Thanks, Photo!

     
  5. joeandrews

    September 23, 2010 at 11:05 pm

    fantastic shot! very nice work with this..

     
  6. psickopsycho

    September 23, 2010 at 11:07 pm

    You passed by an operational drive-in @ Carthage, MO on your Rte 66 excursion enroute to IL this summer. Not far from the KS/MO line… I forget the year it shut down, or when it was re-opened– but I do know it was an automotive junkyard inbetween. Been there a few times- saw it as a junkyard (ssssaaaaddddd), and also lucky enough to go to movies there a few years ago. If I dug around long enough, I might be able to find my non-digital pictures.

     
  7. Sunny

    September 24, 2010 at 4:36 pm

    Ohhh those were the good ole days ! The pizza at intermission at the particular Drive-in I hung out with friends in high school had the most yummyist pizza ! 🙂

     
  8. Les

    September 24, 2010 at 8:33 pm

    As much as we continue to maintain our love affair with the automobile, I am surprised that drive-ins have generally gone the way of hi-fi sets and shag carpeting. I remember as a child going in our pajamas with blankets and pillows, watching the first feature, family oriented, and then pretending to sleep through the second feature that was more action oriented or a love story.

     
  9. This Eclectic Life

    September 24, 2010 at 9:18 pm

    I’ve thought of dragging my husband to Ennis to the drive in there . It’s called The Galaxy. But, then I think how uncomfortable it might be to sit in a Honda Element and try to enjoy the show. Sometimes, the “memory” is much more fun than the reality!
    Great shot, though. It definitely does bring back memories.

     
  10. Pastor Larry

    September 25, 2010 at 9:18 am

    Did you ever get a picture of the Sky-View drive in in Lamesa?

     
  11. wildstorm

    September 25, 2010 at 9:58 am

    I sure didn’t, Pastor. I guess we are going to have to make our way out there next summer.

     
  12. Doug

    October 2, 2010 at 7:23 pm

    We have an operational drive-in here, part of a “fun world” with go cart track, and carnival rides. The drive-in used to be called the “Mustang 66 Drive-In” and was built in, lessee… 1966 🙂

     
  13. Chuck Higbee

    June 20, 2011 at 11:50 am

    I went to High School in Redland in the late 60’s. My Mother grew up in Redland and graduated high school there in 1940. I had many good times at the Redland Drive in. They had a dollar a car load night when we would pack as many as we could get in our cars and pickup trucks. My first date was at Redland when I was in Junior High in Lufkin. Our date was chaperoned by my girl friends Mother in the front seat. 🙂 Sometimes we would try to sneak in in the trunk of a friends car. Don’t think we ever did get away with it. Great fun and many treasured memories.

     
  14. maridee stanleyy

    September 18, 2012 at 1:59 am

    I really miss the drive in theaters. When I was 10 and 11 yrs old, my daddy worked the ticket booth and my mother would sometimes work in the concession stand. I believe the managers name was Ruth Burkett. I loved the smell of popcorn and the big blocks of Chili that would heated up for the chili dogs.. what memories…

     
  15. wildstorm

    September 23, 2012 at 3:34 pm

    Thank you so much for your comment, Maridee.

     

Leave a Reply

 
