RSS

Travels Here and There

14 Sep

It’s been a while. Three years, maybe three and a half. This was probably my favorite city for my job of all. And it all has to do with the Sandias.

When I worked for “that” company, I flew to California, Portland, Arizona, New Mexico, the Carolina’s, Seattle, and Southern Texas. And I loved my job. It required a great bit of driving and that I never minded. For most of my photos were taken from the drivers side window.

One of my assignments was from this ridge just over Albuquerque in Rio Rancho. Sometimes I took my lunch and walked across the street and sat on a park bench situated on the other side of a gate where the trail started–a jogging trail I suppose. I just liked looking at the mountains and remembering, dreaming, listening, sipping on my ice tea in the warm sunshine. It was my own world and everything else in this busy life carried on without me.

If you are not careful, work can consume you. It is sad really that so many focus 12-14 hours of their day on their job and don’t realize how fast it passes and all that is missed out on. I am an expert on the matter. Papers, forms, and regulations will be on my desk when I get back. Attitudes and decisions can be adjusted without me.

I saw this quote somewhere on the world wide web and haven’t a clue who wrote it:
Don’t get so busy making a living that you….forget to make a life”.

 
8 Comments

Posted by on September 14, 2010 in New Mexico, Photography

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

8 responses to “Travels Here and There

  1. elegies

    September 15, 2010 at 4:40 am

    “ Don’t get so busy making a living that you….forget to make a life”.

    How true that it. We must always take time to just stand and stare. 🙂

     
  2. Les

    September 15, 2010 at 5:54 am

    I love the quote. It reminds me of why I abandoned a previous career in favor of one that could combine my avocation with my occupation.

     
  3. Bobby

    September 15, 2010 at 8:32 am

    A,

    I read you. I burn the candle on both ends. I am fortunate to be able to journal some while I work.

    I always take time to enjoy the little things. For me, everything is an activity. Work, property, beach, exercise, music etc… I enjoy these activities as they are clearly different in scope.

    I would love to travel more for my job. I absolutely love to explore new places and things.

    Love,
    Bobby

     
  4. exileimaging

    September 16, 2010 at 9:01 am

    I’ve lived in both Rio Rancho and Albuquerque, and would love to again. I often found myself outside at lunch, staring at the mountains. I changed careers a few years back simply because I was burnt out. While I realized I could make a lot more money in my old career, what I wanted, what I needed, was more time. The change was worth it. I enjoy my life so much more now.

    Thanks for the memory, Anita.

     
  5. wildwesty

    September 16, 2010 at 4:04 pm

    some times real life gets to be too much…. I can so relate to what you wrote.

    Sorry, I haven’t been around much lately… I guess I have the blogging blues 😉

     
  6. Sunny

    September 17, 2010 at 7:00 am

    Hi Anita 🙂 Wow, that’s what I love most to do ~ sit on a bench and appreciate the simple things in life 🙂
    In fact I just made my own design of notecards with one of my bench/water scenes. Waiting for them to arrive.

     
  7. Jack Matthews

    September 22, 2010 at 3:17 pm

    The Sandias are a favorite place of mine, too.

     
  8. Stacie

    September 22, 2010 at 10:25 pm

    I leave work at work and come home and enjoy life. The little things- gardening, beach-combing, sitting on a bench, reading, journaling, crafting…. they bring much happiness and balance to my life.

    I like your photo.

     

Leave a Reply

 
