RSS

Brushed Sky

01 Sep

One of the most beautiful skies is that in the early evening following a storm in which the sun illuminates the wet earth while the eastern skies is shrouded in a very dark gray cloak. Sometimes there is a rainbow. It was like that tonight when I went to church. I wanted to stand outside looking at the east sky and take in all the freshness of the air after the downpour this afternoon.

When we got home, the sky changed and this huge bellowing cloud stretched over as if to take in one final bow to my little town. I pulled the car in, ran inside and grabbed the Nikon. You have to be fast for seconds count. Clouds change rapidly especially when the sun is already yawning on the horizon.

The colors were bright orange and gray. But I lost time. I changed it. Many of my cloud photographs have been taken or changed to gray scale or monochrome. I prefer it that way.

There is a lot of rain in September in North Texas. I will make the most of it all and share my days with you.

 
9 Comments

Posted by on September 1, 2010 in Black and White, Photography, sky, Texas, weather

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

9 responses to “Brushed Sky

  1. exileimaging

    September 2, 2010 at 7:42 am

    Lovely photo. I hope to see more over the next few weeks, as we’re not so assured of rain down here in central Texas, and this might be the only chance I have to see rain clouds! ๐Ÿ™‚

     
  2. doanli

    September 2, 2010 at 9:12 am

    I’ve got some photos akin to this too—very pretty!

     
  3. Angela Giles Klocke

    September 2, 2010 at 11:08 am

    I am in love with the sky. Always an ever-changing canvas of art.

    Great picture. ๐Ÿ˜€

     
  4. Bobby

    September 2, 2010 at 12:36 pm

    Oh that is pretty. We see the bands forming overhead from Hurricane Earl. If it turns into us we are doomed.

    Noaa has modeled it going further offshore. A blessing for us but a curse for Cap Cod…

     
  5. Bobby

    September 2, 2010 at 12:37 pm

    Cape rather…

     
  6. Sunny

    September 2, 2010 at 2:05 pm

    Hi Anita ~ Ohhh I love these kinds of clouds ! I have one in my One Awesome Life Blog here on the side panel.
    Your’s too, is a painting in the sky…….Artist is God ๐Ÿ™‚

     
  7. The Lazy Photographer

    September 4, 2010 at 3:08 pm

    Very cool shot. Love the b & w treatment.

     
  8. Sunny

    September 5, 2010 at 7:32 am

    So peaceful and pretty to see ! Oh and I finally got you linked up in my new Journalspace blogger blog.
    Have a lovely Sunday ๐Ÿ™‚

     
  9. Pastor Larry

    September 7, 2010 at 6:39 am

    COOL ๐Ÿ™‚

     

Leave a Reply

 
