RSS

Hot August

31 Aug

It is the last night of this hot month of August. It had been 100 plus for weeks and hardly cooled down one single bit. My garden suffered. I lost my squash and zucchini plants and the cucumbers just couldn’t go any further. I did get a decent crop though from all the survivors and will plant all of these in the next week or so for the fall. They will do just fine.

What a wonderful month it has been aside from the sweltering heat. My job kept me busy and I still had lots of play time with my baby. The sewing machine is in use once again and I’ll post photos in the very near future of some of my projects. I love shopping at the fabric store.

I’ve also learned to tat. How I discovered this art was on a blog of one of my favorites, Shelly Tucker. She shared a post several months ago and since that time, I’ve been watching tatting videos on Youtube. Two weeks ago, I went to Hobby Lobby and bought everything I needed for needle tatting.

My pantry is full of all kinds of delicious things I’ve canned over this summer: pickled okra, blacke eyed peas, spicey carrots, bread and butter jalapenos, bread and butter pickles. In the freezer: Peaches, berries, bananas, okra, and more.

September brings a new canvas and fall is just around the corner. My camera goes with me more often now for there is so much to share when its not so darn hot out.

 
11 Comments

Posted by on August 31, 2010 in Flowers, home, Photography

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

11 responses to “Hot August

  1. Joan

    August 31, 2010 at 9:08 pm

    It sounds like life is good for you!

    I used to tat! No one does it any more.

     
  2. BethanyC

    August 31, 2010 at 9:19 pm

    I don’t know how you do it all! I admire your energy.

    I had a very bad garden year. Still have okra coming in though.

    What kind of tatting are you doing, needle or shuttle? My sister tatted for a while. It’s a beautiful craft and it is so good that people are keeping it alive!

     
  3. Stacie

    August 31, 2010 at 9:38 pm

    So much to make and do! I have never tatted before but I have heard of it.

    We can only do so much in our gardens and mother nature is in control of the rest. What I would do for some zucchini to make some bread though.

    I enjoy reading about your life, thank you.

     
  4. wildstorm

    August 31, 2010 at 9:57 pm

    Joan, I had never heard of tatting. That is until I discovered it on Youtube. And at Hobby Lobby there is a whole isle for tatting supplies. In fact, I bought the last book and needles they had in stock.

     
  5. wildstorm

    August 31, 2010 at 9:57 pm

    Bethany, I am learning needle tatting. I am not sure really if shuttle tatting would work for me. I watched many videos and the needle seemed to work better for me.

     
  6. wildstorm

    August 31, 2010 at 9:59 pm

    Stacie, I like reading about your life too and I love when you post about your creative things. Wish you lived closer. I have tons of zucchini I could share with you! I froze it in 2 cup bags so it’s perfect for that bread recipe!

     
  7. Lou

    September 1, 2010 at 4:25 am

    It has even been sweltering in Eastern Canada- so odd for this time of year! Great post Anita…sounds like your summer was my kind of summer! God bless dear friend!

     
  8. Pastor Larry

    September 1, 2010 at 6:54 am

    Wonderful Picture as always 🙂

     
  9. Bobby

    September 1, 2010 at 10:49 am

    I love the heat. I even look forward to the humidity. I would dry out in the midwest…

    We are in the midst of a hurricane warning. Strangely enough the water is beautiful and calm. I’m going to swim a mile or so this afternoon. Come tomorrow and especially Friday we will most likely get brushed by Hurricane Earl.

    I have to look up tatting. My mind tells me that is slang for tattoo so I’m going to clarify. I’m sure it is something different.

    Cheers,
    Bobby

     
  10. Sunny

    September 1, 2010 at 7:54 pm

    That’s so great to have a pantry stocked with your own garden produce 🙂 Gives one a secure feeling too!My Mom does this still…..

    Tatting is beautiful art, and my Great Aunt Sukie ( I pronounced her name “Aunt Cookie” when a toddler,lol) Aunt Sukie used to do tatting all the time. She made beautiful crosses, doilies, and tablecloths.

    I love the hot temps ! But not the 100’s, wow so many days in a row. Winter will be a welcome for you folks!

    You sure are a busy gal. Doing all this, plus being a wonderful Mother! Amazing!

     
  11. This Eclectic Life

    September 24, 2010 at 9:13 pm

    I look forward to seeing your tatting! How I wish I could do it, but my arthritic fingers won’t cooperate. I’m envious of your garden bounty … and I really think you should invite us all over for dinner.
    Enjoy that time with your beautiful baby. We all look forward to seeing what photos you will delight us with during the changing seasons.

     

Leave a Reply

 
