RSS

Bigfoot Sighting

12 Aug

It was early when I left the house: 5:30 a.m. The baby was strapped in his seat but stayed awake for most of the morning. He talked and sang as I cruised down the highway driving 69. Well maybe it was 70, but it was on the 69.

We had lost track of time for the clouds in the east smothered the morning sunlight. I don’t even remember crossing into Oklahoma. After dozens of trips over that bridge one would lose thought of place and time. It was too early stop and since the baby was content I stretched the drive into another hour.

Christopher Knight sang some sad country song about William that morning and I smacked on a piece of bubble gum. The baby giggled when I turned my head blowing a huge bubble and letting it pop. I changed the station for the song pulled at emotions. Credence in the morning is good.

It is said that several Sasquatch sightings are reported every year in Oklahoma. Google Bigfoot Oklahoma and you will come across a dozen pages with links for Bigfoot enthusiasts. I wish I had left earlier and caught Coast to Coast a.m. with George Noory.

The best I could come up with for my fellow Bigfoot friends and bloggers is this siting below: Bigfoot BBQ just outside of Caddo Oklahoma. The day was too early for us to walk in with appetite and note pad. Instead, I situated my car next to a sleeping rig and photographed this restaurant. Has any of my fabulous readers been here? Tell me about it.

 
11 Comments

Posted by on August 12, 2010 in Oklahoma, Photography, small towns

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

11 responses to “Bigfoot Sighting

  1. Michaella

    August 12, 2010 at 12:19 am

    Oh my. We are soo much alike. I laughed as I read this. You know ” William grew up hard and mean”. Great song.Oh and I love the part about the bubblegum. I’ll say it again, this is my favorite yet!!!!

     
  2. wildstorm

    August 12, 2010 at 8:13 am

    Michaella, when I heard “William” for the first time on the way home from riding my horse, I cried all the way to the house. Glad you like this!

     
  3. Bobby

    August 12, 2010 at 12:15 pm

    I have seen the beast more than I care to discuss.

     
  4. Anna

    August 13, 2010 at 4:11 pm

    Really nice post and a Bigfoot sighting, indeed. Interesting trip you were on. Nothing like the old highways. I’ve been in a lot of Oklahoma and some places are old stomping grounds but I haven’t been to Caddo.

     
  5. Pastor Larry

    August 14, 2010 at 10:09 am

    The restaurant formerly known as El Bean 🙂
    Yes but it has been a long time.
    I use to preach at small country Christian Churches in Oklahoma.

     
  6. Sunny

    August 14, 2010 at 10:19 am

    HI ANITA ! WOW, I SAW A BIGFOOT IN THE UPPER PENINSULA OF MICHIGAN A COUPLE OF DECADES AGO. I WAS ON A TRUCK TRIP WITH MY 2ND HUBBY. IT WAS NIGHT, DARK AND AT THE EDGE OF THE WOODS WAS THIS HUGE ‘THING.’ I CAN STILL SEE THIS IMAGE, YEARS LATER!

    OH AND YOUR POST WAS SO BEAUTIFULLY DESCRIPTIVE, THAT IT READS AS IF I’M LOOKING AT A PAINTING!

     
  7. wildstorm

    August 14, 2010 at 10:59 am

    Then Pastor you must have seen Bigfoot. I’m sure you have!

     
  8. psickopsycho

    August 15, 2010 at 10:59 am

    Anita, I’m really enjoying reading this. Please keep it up. It’s neat!

     
  9. The Lazy Photographer

    September 4, 2010 at 3:07 pm

    I bet they make good bbq! 🙂

     
  10. Jane

    November 9, 2011 at 9:37 pm

    Just South of Vian, Oklahoma is Sequoyah National Wildlife Refuge with migratory fowl and plenty of year round birds. Sequoyah National Wildlife Refuge is large enough, has plenty of wildlife of all varieties, has rivers and streams for fish, and grows many wild fruits from tree to vine. I’m not saying what I saw was a sasquatch, but it was very tall and almost seemed to have an attitude.

     
  11. regan222

    January 15, 2012 at 10:35 pm

    @The Lazy Photographer – They make really GOOD barbeque but you have to soak them overnight in milk to get rid of that wild taste.

     

Leave a Reply

 
