RSS

Galena, Kansas

10 Aug

If only I had more time that Wednesday afternoon. Lunch with the baby at the Rainbow bridge allowed some time to stretch legs and get out of the car for some time and enjoy the fresh air, soak up warm sunshine, and sip on a cold Coke. What you drink on this road matters! I don’t know why but I associate Coke with The Mother Road. It’s like hot dogs at a baseball game; Christmas trees in December (not August).

Once back on the road (and we did have to drive over the bridge–you don’t go to Kansas on 66 and not drive the bridge) we headed eastbound to Galena. That little town of around 3000 people at one time was part of an area of 30,000 people. You can find all this info on Wikipedia. That corner of Kansas along with Oklahoma and Missouri in its prime was a mining area. It is a short drive from my last blog entry, Picher, Oklahoma.

My time was short and it was necessary to concentrate on the drive to Illinois so there was not what I needed to stroll the sidewalks of Galena capturing the heartbeat of a treasured Route 66. A number of websites indicate that “this stretch of Route 66 is experiencing a revival and some of these lovely old buildings are being restored and put to new uses.”

We stopped for a moment. I sat the baby in my lap and rolled the window down to take this shot. We looked around under the warm sun. I turned up the radio and listened to Jimi Hendrix. The baby pointed to the faded stencil in the center of the street. I took another swig of my coke.

 
7 Comments

Posted by on August 10, 2010 in Kansas, Photography, small towns

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

7 responses to “Galena, Kansas

  1. Michaella

    August 11, 2010 at 5:38 am

    Good choice of music!

     
  2. Pastor Larry

    August 11, 2010 at 10:17 am

    You still post the most cool pictures of rural Texas.

     
  3. burstmode

    August 11, 2010 at 12:09 pm

    The bricked up front of the structure makes me wonder what had been there.

     
  4. Krista

    August 11, 2010 at 1:12 pm

    I love this. 🙂 Especially your last paragraph. Beautifully written. 🙂

     
  5. Stacie

    August 12, 2010 at 10:51 am

    I like this building.

     
  6. Preston

    August 22, 2010 at 6:42 am

    “I turned up the radio and listened to Jimi Hendrix. The baby pointed to the faded stencil in the center of the street. I took another swig of my coke.”

    Loved the image and the story, but your last paragraph will stay in my mind for a long, long, time…

     
  7. Anatolij

    October 14, 2010 at 1:32 am

    Coke is not a generic word for all soft drinks; it is a brand name, and as such is capitalized. Spelling it as “coke” as done above is incorrect.

     

Leave a Reply

 
