RSS

Route 66-Rainbow Bridge, Kansas

09 Aug

Once called “Graffiti Bridge”, Rainbow Bridge is the last of the three concrete arch bridges on Route 66. The other two were demolished while this one basks in the history of the Mother Road. You can drive on it one way or you can speed on by it on the new bridge over Brush Creek.

Although it has a clean appearance, graffiti gives subjects some character really, especially when they are bridges. Most of you will disagree. But there are stories to be told, love declarations, political rhetoric, artisitic expression, or simply a “tag”. I prefer the more decorative art versus a mark on a stop sign of nothing more than a swoosh of a can of spray paint. If you are going to go to all the trouble and risk then paint something fabulous on the local overpass. Not disappointed but I wish I had seen it in the earlier days full of color.

Enough of this so-called rebellious side. Be sure to drive to Rainbow bridge the next time you are in the southeastern corner of Kansas. It’s only about 12 and some miles. Kansas takes Route 66 very seriously for its Mother Road is even stenciled.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on August 9, 2010 in Oklahoma, Photography, small towns

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

4 responses to “Route 66-Rainbow Bridge, Kansas

  1. Krista

    August 9, 2010 at 11:42 pm

    I love this shot. 🙂 Bridges are so beautiful and wonderful to me. I’m so glad you posted this. 🙂

     
  2. Wes

    August 10, 2010 at 6:40 am

    great story, great bridge. Reminds me of a bridge in Colorado sprayed with graffiti. ”
    Texan go home”

     
  3. Pastor Larry

    August 10, 2010 at 9:33 am

    Cool
    I have a morning prayer you might like on my blog.

     
  4. Bobby

    August 10, 2010 at 11:06 am

    Always a nice shot. I love to explore but my exploration always takes me to bodies of water and the things that are around them

    Bridges and the like get my attention quickly.

    Love,
    Bobby

     

Leave a Reply

 
