RSS

Chouteau, Oklahoma

08 Aug

With a large Amish population in the area, Chouteau is located along the historic KATY railroad on Route 69 in Oklahoma. On my twelve hour drive it was necessary to stop for a break in the drive with the baby and stretch our legs and I did so just in front of this gin. The building next to me was the Amish Cheese House. Although the aroma drew us both inside to sample the goodies and find a few treats to take with us, I found the subject below a bit more photogenic.

Processed using Photoshop–the most basic of tools so far. There is much to learn.

 
6 Comments

Posted by on August 8, 2010 in Oklahoma, Photography, small towns

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

6 responses to “Chouteau, Oklahoma

  1. Anna

    August 9, 2010 at 8:03 am

    Great shot! I really like this in its colors and texture.

    How are you liking Photoshop? I am wavering as I am thinking seriously in getting Photoshop… and yes, this program is forever learning!

     
  2. Bobby

    August 9, 2010 at 11:54 am

    12 hour drive? I would have had to stretch out as well. I haven’t taken a 12 hour drive in several years.

    Yikes!

    The picture is pretty. Are you sure with all that driving you didn’t have to get your passport stamped?

    love,
    Bobby

     
  3. Les

    August 10, 2010 at 10:19 pm

    When I looked at this quickly, my mind said “church”.

     
  4. lauren

    January 14, 2011 at 5:15 am

    ive seen that a million times.. pass it all the time

     
  5. Shannon

    May 31, 2014 at 11:29 pm

    It’s the grain elevator, in danger of being torn down. I was told by the town historian (my high school history teacher) the termites got to it real bad.

     
  6. Harry Troyer

    May 1, 2016 at 10:25 pm

    When I was a boy of about 11 or 12 my father added an addition to this elevator-feed mill. My most vivid memory is of the time my father sent me to climb to the top and fetch a bar that was left there. The climb was a long one and I decided to use the man lift which I had seen others use. I didn’t know it was operated with a counter balance that out weighed me by about 100 Lbs. When I released the brake on the apparatus I shot to the top of that little narrow part seen at the extreme upper roof. The lift was wedged in so that I couldn’t dislodge it and my father had to climb up and rescue me. He didn’t fuss about it and I think he was just relieved I wasn’t hurt. The owner was Mrs. Chupp at the time and my father was Reub Troyer.

     

Leave a Reply

 
