RSS

40 Summer Favorites

24 Jul

Today I wrote a letter to a friend. When addressing the envelope I never print it out. I handwrite it and usually put little hearts or xxoo somewhere on it no matter who I am sending it to. They are my friend and I love my friends. I remember growing up spending summers writing letters to everyone. I sent post cards on every single trip we took. But letters, they were important. Much like the technology today on Facebook and this blog.

The summer offers so much. These are a few of my favorites:

1. Little league at the ball park across from my house.
2. Icecream cones
3. Lemonade
4. The smell of honeysuckle
5. Family reunions
6. Sitting in the swing on the front porch
7. Playing with the baby at the park
8. “The Sun Also Rises” ~Hemingway
9. Tending the garden
10. Walks in the evening
11. Do nothing days
12. Late night drives listening to Coast to Coast a.m.
13. A phone call from a long lost friend
14. Chatting for hours wtih that long lost friend
15. Having blog friends over for dinner
16. Summer music festivals–Redlands Bowl (I miss that place)
17. Gospel Music Texas Style at The Place
18. The coolness of the sheets in the morning upon wakening
19. A summer thunderstorm
20. Catching a movie at the drive-in
21. Sorting through old letters
22. Finding a $10 bill in the pocket of shorts not worn since last summer
23. Lunch with girlfriends
24. The smell of fresh cut grass
25. Playing music out on the porch with friends
26. Driving without a map just to see where the road goes
27. Riding in the rain
28. Taking random photos with the cell phone
29. Drinking an ice cold Mexican coke–in the glass bottle of course
30. Walking down the street to get a snow cone
31. Stopping by the library on the way home to check out the book “Infinite Jest”
32. Taking a calligraphy course
33. An afternoon nap during the week
34. Making homemade ice cream
35. Pedicures
36. Listening to nothing but the wind blowing on a hot summer day
37. Exploring Glass Beach near Fort Bragg
38. A spontaneous and random day trip to some place off the beaten path
39. Spending hours in the very cool basement reading historic medical journals at Loma Linda Library while waiting for the results of a test.
40. Taking pictures of strangers

 
12 Comments

Posted by on July 24, 2010 in home, list, Photography

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

12 responses to “40 Summer Favorites

  1. Anna

    July 25, 2010 at 7:28 am

    Neat photo! I used to handwrite letters a lot to friends and family when in my younger days. I really like your list, and .24 The smell of fresh cut grass… me too. 🙂

     
  2. siranneal

    July 25, 2010 at 9:13 am

    #24 gets My vote

     
  3. Stacie

    July 25, 2010 at 10:49 am

    Glass beach is on my list of places to visit… so beautiful! I love writing letters too, and still mail postcards…

     
  4. wildstorm

    July 25, 2010 at 4:25 pm

    When I wrote this, my husband was mowing the grass. Apparently #24 is a favorite. Thanks Anna and SA.

    Stacie, Glass Beach is a treasure of a place. I hope you get to go. Mail me a postcard!

     
  5. Teraisa

    July 26, 2010 at 6:03 am

    Perfectly said. 😉

     
  6. Bobby

    July 26, 2010 at 9:56 am

    I have never met any of my blogosphere friends. I was directed by my shrink to blog about my feelings in secret.

    Looking back on the things I have written and the people I have met I arrived at 2 conclusions.

    1)I love my friends and family.
    2) the world is really filled with wonderful people.

    My journal is to help me through my secret hell we all call “depression”.

    You are a blessing.

    Love,B
    Bobby

     
  7. bard

    July 27, 2010 at 3:11 am

    I love the perspective of that shot. You’ve made me realize that I’m not appreciating summer as much as I could be, so I’m going to make the most of what is left.

     
  8. This Eclectic Life

    July 27, 2010 at 9:36 am

    What a fun photo! You have such an eye. Your list is delightful (finding $10 in shorts made me laugh).

    On my list, it’s re-reading To Kill A Mockingbird and watching the hummingbirds fight over the feeder.

     
  9. davecandoit

    July 28, 2010 at 7:13 am

    Great list and excellent shot. Love the shallow depth of field. Nice.

     
  10. Slamdunk

    July 28, 2010 at 12:22 pm

    Wonderful list. I consume my share of your #3 and used to work overnights and Coast to Coast was part of the routine.

     
  11. Michaella

    August 8, 2010 at 4:35 pm

    I don’t know how I missed this one but, I LOVE IT!

     
  12. theignorantbystander

    August 8, 2010 at 11:22 pm

    It’s good to know that someone is still giving us postal carriers a job. Who knows how long that will last? LOL. Love the photo (even if it does remind me of being a work a little.)

     

Leave a Reply

 
