RSS

Noon on Wednesday

21 Jul

Just after 9 I left for Denison. There was business to take care of there and in Sherman. That came first. But the day was so beautiful, I wanted to breath in that warm summer morning air, feel the breeze on my face. And I wanted to explore Main Street but wanted to do so with friends. Next time.

The sky was brilliant blue and even the very modern Bank of America building looked good against it amongst all the very the much older refurbished store fronts that line Main Street. I took care of one project there and rounded the corner heading for the second.

I thought about all these things I love about the summer months, minus the very hot days: Browsing the antique shops for hours, and sipping on a coke in a soda shop while watching the rain from a short lived heat shower in the middle of the afternoon.

On the way home I pulled in to the Sonic at noon and ordered an ice cream cone. I looked out across the open pastures and watched the clouds float by.

 
5 Comments

Posted by on July 21, 2010 in Photography, small towns, Texas

 

Tags: , , , , ,

5 responses to “Noon on Wednesday

  1. barebackbaby

    July 21, 2010 at 4:02 pm

    slow moving days of summer and ice cream cones and cloud mesmerization. Is that a word? haha.

    I’m with ya.

    Ginny

     
  2. Stacie

    July 21, 2010 at 4:28 pm

    Love the lazy summer days… and jealous because there are no Sonic’s here. Have a good day!

     
  3. Jack Matthews

    July 21, 2010 at 7:44 pm

    Simple picture of chapel and oak trees — but says a lot. I like it.

     
  4. exileimaging

    July 22, 2010 at 6:54 am

    The photo compliments the words of your post so well. I’m envious of your time on the road for work. It reminds me of earlier days in my career when ‘field work’ was the norm. Nowadays I spend most of my time at my desk, on my computer, tapping out the hours until the weekend and another road trip in search of simplicity.

     
  5. Bobby

    July 22, 2010 at 10:13 am

    Yep, you are in another world. Thank you for sharing. My world is a dichotomy of the city and the beach. Isolated beaches are my favorites. I love those old chapels.

    Love,
    Bobby

     

Leave a Reply

 
