RSS

Comfort Zone

20 Jul

The baby watched as his aunt sprayed her mare with the waterhose, cooling off a hot horse. The days have been quite warm.

This image was made today while the horses were being cooled off. The baby watched from the porch very seriously for he wanted to be out there in the grass playing in the spray from the hose.

The mood of this image is different from that of the original. In this I had cropped much closer to the baby, increasd color/contrast and a few other adjustments, very simply. But it seemed to take me ten minutes to do it. For the past six years I have used PaintShop Pro. PhotoShop is now on this computer and it is similar in some respect but very different overall.

I realized how comfortable I got with it and could process photos in not time at all. I knew what kind of effect, size, shape, and contrast. I could layer, color, paste, multiply, and so on. I am not even sure how to crop with PhotoShop.

In life, we become very comfortable with our routines and forget that in order to grow we must challenge ourselves with new experiences. With that it means change; not doing things the way we always have. Constantly open doors for new opportunities for yourself. Stretch. It feels really good.

 
13 Comments

Posted by on July 20, 2010 in baby, Photography

 

Tags: , , , , ,

13 responses to “Comfort Zone

  1. Elegies

    July 20, 2010 at 6:10 am

    Babies have the most intent stares at times. When they find something fascinating it really is wonderful to watch them watching.

     
  2. Les

    July 20, 2010 at 6:25 am

    Such a serious young man.

    My wife gave me Photoshop this past Christmas , and I have certainly enjoyed it. It is capable of so many things I know nothing about – yet. Maybe when I finally finish my camera manual, I’ll dive deeper into Photoshop.

     
  3. exileimaging

    July 20, 2010 at 6:41 am

    Great photo, Anita. Love the look in his eyes. I’ve been using Photoshop Elements for years, and still haven’t come close to mastering it. I would be totally lost with the ‘full blown’ version.

     
  4. burstmode

    July 20, 2010 at 8:30 am

    I find most children’s photos benefit from a little saturation…makes them warmer. If I might: the crop could be a little tighter, especially on the top. Where to crop on an arm is always an interesting question, too.
    I love that little guy’s face.

     
  5. Bobby

    July 20, 2010 at 9:13 am

    I know nothing of editing my photos. I just shoot whatever I think is pretty and leave it up to the world to judge. I should be doing more things with it however as I have an artistic side like you do.

    One of the things I have always loved about your journal is that it takes me to a place I have never seen. There are many things about our country that I do not experience and visiting you allows me a glimpse of something different yet so wonderful.

    Thank you for being yourself.

    Love,

    Bobby
    Bobby

     
  6. wildstorm

    July 20, 2010 at 9:16 am

    Bobby, that is how I feel about your blog. I have never been where you are and it’s so much fun to pay you a visit.

     
  7. wildstorm

    July 20, 2010 at 9:17 am

    Bursty, I think you are right regarding the cropping of the top of that photo. It makes a huge difference and I just might repost it later. Thanks for that. Cropping with people in the picture is tricky.

     
  8. wildstorm

    July 20, 2010 at 9:18 am

    ei and Les, apparently I have the full blown version. The CS5. I’m overwhelmed. I think I would do just fine with Elements!

     
  9. wildstorm

    July 20, 2010 at 9:20 am

    Elegies, its so much fun watching him wondering what he thinks about or tries to imagine with such little of life experience.

     
  10. Bobby

    July 20, 2010 at 9:28 am

    Well,

    You are welcome any time buddy. We even see the horses on the beach with barefoot riders…

     
  11. Stacie

    July 20, 2010 at 6:56 pm

    I have a trial of PSP, but haven’t used it so much.. it is amazing everything you can do with it though.

    This picture is adorable! I love the expression on his face.

     
  12. Anna

    July 22, 2010 at 2:46 pm

    Beautiful capture of the sweet and serious baby. Yes, I know what you mean about comfort zones. Photo Shop…. ehhhh…. I haven’t ventured that far yet. 🙂

     
  13. wildwesty

    July 22, 2010 at 11:05 pm

    such a cute baby, Anita! And he’s gotten so big.

    Yes, I’m still around but not as much as I used to be.

     

Leave a Reply

 
